Raining again!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Invercargill
December 4th 2012
Published: December 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Just started raining again, but I am in the Scottish sounding Invercargill so I suppose it is quiet apt!

Just had a very cheeky Song Thrush come into the van and rummage for crumbs on the floor. Unfortunately, it left a little present just before it flew out!

Seems ages since I updated the blog.

Enjoyed my time helping out at the Mahoe Reserve, I had been in touch with Sue Jarvis about this and it was liking meeting up with an old friend.

Sunday night I stayed at a really quaint site at Geraldine, I had the place all to myself, which was a little spoky!

It was a really nice site called The Farmyard aimed at families with young children, had a adventure and a petting zoo. I made a fuss of the donkeys and pigs!

Monday I had a couple of small walks one along the boardwalk at Caroline Bay. Also had lunch a walk at Botanic Gardens in Timaru.

Monday night I stayed in Oamaru, saw an exhibition called Steampunk, looked Ok from outside but inside was just a little too weird for me; think the artist needs therapy! I was a teeny bit spooked out by the scultures. CORRECTION A LOT SPOOKED OUT.

Went to a Yellow Eyed penguin colony, only 25 birds and 6 nesting pairs. They are very timid so beach is closed after 3pm. If they see people the would not go hack yo their nests after a days fishing. You have to view them from a hide at the top of the cliff. Feel very privelaged to see 2 that had nested near the top of the cliff.

Also had a walk along harbour for an hour, walked passed a playground which had a giant hamster wheel for kids (would not get that by Health & Safety in the UK).

Then went to Blue Penguin colony. A bit commercial but once the coach party of eastern tourists left it was much better. The staff kept asking them not to take photos and to be quiet, but they just would not take any notice. Some of the penguins were so scared they ended up going back into the sea which meant their chicks would not get fed as they would digest the food for themselves instead. Blue Penguins are quite common and when I was talking to one off staff later on she said that the chicks don't always get fed everyday anyway so if their parents had got scared off then they would be ok. Left about 10 as one of the penguins who nests under the exit ramp was just coming back, got within about 2ft of it as it ran towards me as I was leaving. Just goes to show that being quiet around wild life does pay off. Guessing I had a much better night than the coach party!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb