1st Day of Summer


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
December 1st 2012
Published: December 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

1st of December is officially the first day of summer in New Zealand.

Was awoken by a very loud siren going off, bit concerned as to what is was to start off but when I asked a local when I heard a similar s

iren a couple of weeks ago she said it was to call in fire brigade volunteers.

Late getting away from campsite this morning originally planned to find a walk but to be fair it took about 30 mins to get to the information centre in Akaroa so did not get around to doing another walk.

Akaroa was settled by the French so all the road names are in French.

I spent the afternon on a boat but I forgot to put sunscreen on so my face is a bit red now.

Saw New Zealand Fur seals and Hector's dolphins. The dolphins are smallest in world and quite rare as only about 5000 left.

By the time I walked back up the hill to the campsite I really did not feel like another walk so drank tea and read a book.

Heading south tomorrow via Lincoln. Spending the afternoon helping out at the Mahoe Reserve, very much looking forward to it.

Advertisement



1st December 2012

Hope you took pictures of dolphins :-)

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb