Christchurch


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Akaroa
November 30th 2012
Published: November 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had a fanastic drive through Arthur's Pass yesterday from west coast to east coast of the South Island

As usual the drive was not for the faint hearted, it included going over a bridge one vehicle wide with a railway line running down the middle, a rock shelter built over the road to prevent vehicles being hit by falling rocks, a waterfall diverted to avoid the road. The road was so steep at one point even with my foot to floor only just managed 35km/hr. Almost forgot road was so high up my ears popped whilst I was driving.

I had planned to do a walk at Aurthur's Pass Village but was put off by the fact that local info centre hired out location beaons. Thought I would be out of depth, but asked if there were any short walks I might be able to manage. Sure she said try the Devil's Punchbowl; if you can walk up stairs then you'll OK, takes about an hr there and back from car park at the other end of the village.

So off I trotted, what she failed to mention is that is basically one huge staircase up the side of the mountain. I was absolutely knackered by the time I got to the top. It was worth the effort though.

Also saw a wild Kea (type of parrot) in the village, it was not acting very wild because it was walking about on the tables at a local cafe to see what it could pinch from people's plates!

Stayed at campsite by beach last night, did not get to see the beach as it nothing but rain until about 4 in the morning. I was in my pjs reading a book by 8.

Went to a great farmers market this morning, bought loads. Basically my Christmas shopping is being done here in New Zealand.

Went for a walk by the river and planned to have lunch in my van there, but just as I got back to the van a load of drunk teenagers turned up in a pick up truck. It is the only time I have felt uncomfortable here so I headed into Christchurch instead.

Planned just to park up in city centre and have a walk around. So followed signs for city centre, I was surprised by what I saw, basically one big demolition site as a result of last yrs earthquake. Lots of roads were closed off completely. Did not bother parking up in the end.

I am staying at great site in Akaroa tonight and tomorrow. Got a great view of the bay from my van. Dolphins and whales swim in the.harbour. I plan to take a boat trip tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb