Mel's Glacier Day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Franz Josef
April 12th 2008
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Mel in a crevasseMel in a crevasseMel in a crevasse

Mel was the first one to go through and the only girl! WOO!
Hi everyone, Mel writing here as yesterday Lauren and I did different things. The glacier walk was absolutely amazing! I thought I'd be freezing but it was warm with my 3 layers. We had to climb up really steep ice stairs then go through tunnels and through really narrow crevasses. It was an adventure and a very tiring day. I found once I stopped moving my muscles ached and my feet have lovely blisters on the back but it was worth it. I've got some pictures so I'll put them up too. The only downside of the day was that I couldn't spend it with Lauren, bit of a shame but we both had good days nonetheless. Today is the 12th, a day before my birthday! It is really weird not being at home for it, first time ever I think. I'm sure Lauren will make it special and I've then got even more to look forward to when I get home. The next couple of days we are travelling down to Queenstown. From there we're doing a trip to Milford Sound, a place with lots of mountains and lakes and a cool boat trip, I'm sure we'll write all about it. Anyways, thats enough from me. Take care everyone x


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Waterfall, cloud, iceWaterfall, cloud, ice
Waterfall, cloud, ice

There was a huge waterfall running down the mountain and onto the glacier. Pictures just don't do it justice..
Ice stepsIce steps
Ice steps

You can just make out the steps that have been cut into the ice. The guides sometimes stop to cut the steps better but mostly you just use your crampons for grip.
Climbing out the crevasseClimbing out the crevasse
Climbing out the crevasse

One of the huge crevasses we had to climb out of.


Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0306s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1021.2kb