Frozen jelly and bad weather


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 15th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Thanks to my absolutely fantastic bar fridge, the jelly i made was half frozen... I thought maybe I could start a trend till I tried to eat it. Not nice.

Anyway, the weather here sucks!! Today is yucky and tomorrow is supposed to be worse, so I don't know if I'll leave the house (although I may need to buy food...) I went out last night anyway. I went to a salsa club and met one more person. Actually I got there at around 8pm and there was just tango, so I asked the bartender and found out it started at 10pm! So I went to the cinema nearby, but nothing good was on at 8:30pm, so I had ice cream and sat around for an hour and a half watching people go by... girls unable to walk in their heels, nervous guys on first dates, groups of hardcore looking teens, and weird people who harass you. So anyway, at salsa (at 10pm!), I met one guy, a student from Germany and he was a fantastic dancer! There were all these guys there dancing with each other, and they were really good. I danced with a few of them, but watching them dance and swap between who was leading and stuff was fantastic. I didn't have the guts to walk up to a group of student looking types... oh well.

The other day I almost got hit by a car. This guys decided it would be smart to turn really fast infront of the oncoming traffic as soon as the light turned green and almost ran into me. It was weird. I kinda just stood there and then jumped out of the way! Then when I was cooking dinner that night I cut my finger. It still hurts, luckily I have a first aid kit because I forgot to buy dettol! And last night this old lady who was there scraped her stiletto down the outside of my ankle... OW! So I'm bruised and battered. Maybe it'll keep me inside to study considering I'm still hobbling around from last night's injury!

Otherwise I've just been at home reading or going to uni and having meetings. I went to a seminar on Maori health. It was the first seminar in the course, so there was a lot about Maori and New Zealand history and culture. Very interesting. I think I talked Boz's ear off that night relating the entire session to him (and it was a full day course!).

So far I have two people planning to visit me! Yay! 😊 The first arrives next weekend! 😊

I was going to post pics of my apartment until I realised the batteries ran out in my camera and I don't have spares. Oh well, means I don't have to clean it for the pics!

SJ





Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 6; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb