Life In The Capital


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
August 1st 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yash and IYash and IYash and I

Yash and I on the Balcony

Camera Issue



So my camera is a homo. Apparently, Josh dropped it in a river when he was in Alaska or something, but I was able to obtain a lot of the pictures I want from Richards camera. He took some when we went up to Taupo for the Sky-Dive, and some around Wellington and in the hostel and stuff. I have taken a lot of pictures that I’ve had to delete because they didn't come out good. So when I was looking through his pictures the other day and saw some that I had taken that didn't come out, I asked him if I could upload them onto my page. So these pictures are a lot better. I'm sure it is obvious that these pictures were not taken with my cam.

Wellington Poker



In Wellington, there is a Pub Poker League. Basically, there are 6 popular pubs around the city that have a poker night. Actually, the pub that I worked at for four months does the Wednesday night poker. You just show up a little early, and you find the person who's signing people up and tell him/her your name. They write your name
Cable CarCable CarCable Car

Cable Car Shot
down and tell you what table you're on. Usually 40-50 people show up wanting to play, so it's very similar to tournament style poker. This is something that I do 2-3 times a week. It has been really fun, and I've made the final table a couple times. There is no buy-in, so it costs nothing to play. And if you win you receive a 50 dollar bar tab. So I'm still awaiting the night I win. But anyway, this is something that I've done a lot since I've been here, and I always think of my brother Matt when I’m playing, because I think he would enjoy it.

Subway



So I work at Subway now. It's hilarious, and was an easy transfer; coming out of restaurants and going into something like Subway, even though I guess it's similar to a restaurant. But it's the only job I've ever had where I wasn't really trained, and didn't really need to be trained. I just put on a Subway shirt and Hat, and started making subs. The computer is the hardest part of the whole job. Make a sub for someone in like 3 minutes, and it takes
Sweet PictureSweet PictureSweet Picture

This is a sweet picture that Richard took from just outside on our balcony by our room. Sweet view while we hung out and smoked
me 10 minutes to work the damn cash register. But the best part about working there is the people. I work with like 3 Chinese girls, one Chinese guy, a German girl, and an English girl, who are all about my age if not a little older. There's no like, old Adult Manager. It's basically a Subway run by a bunch of somewhat young adults, and a few backpackers. It's funny, because sometimes they're talking to me, and I have no clue what anyone is saying. And I think my silliness makes them laugh even harder. Anyway, I would probably never work at a place like Subway back home, but on a trip it's a fun and exciting experience. I eat a lot of Subway now too, which is good I guess. And the Fruit Market on Sundays is a weekly fruit stock-up. Oh yeah, the fruit market. That's something to write about

It's hard to get used to 2 things. In New Zealand, Green Pepper is called Capsicum, and Pickles are called Gurkens. So sometimes I mix those up and put the wrong one on someone’s sub.

Vegetable Market



The thing behind the whole vegetable
WellingtonWellingtonWellington

View from Cable Car
market is this - Basically, the restaurants order their stock for the next day the night before, unlike in a lot of the places I've worked in Maine where you order your stock for an entire week, the week before. So the companies that supply the stock need to make sure that they have enough food to cover the restaurants in which they provide food for, because they never know who's going to need what. Then, at the end of the week (Sunday), they have all of this leftover food that none of the restaurants needed. So truck-loads of Fruit and Vegetables show up every Sunday morning in a huge parking lot that is about a 15 minute walk from the hostel. They simply set up counters with baskets of fruit, and you walk around and get what you want. I can usually get almost anything I can think of for fruit; Apples, Oranges, Kiwi, Onions, etc. It's fun to walk through and look at different things, because I always see fruits and vegetables that I've never seen before. Long story short, I usually walk away from that place with 14 kiwi, 4-5 apples, 4-5 oranges, and whatever else floats
StaffStaffStaff

Bianca and Jo
my boat, for under $10. Good deal eh?




Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

BuildingsBuildings
Buildings

Wellington
WellingtonWellington
Wellington

View from Cable Car
SunSun
Sun

Sunset across the Bay
ShipShip
Ship

This is a sweet Chilean ship that was parked in the harbour for a couple days
TrashballTrashball
Trashball

This is what we do in the room when we're bored. We play Trashball
Army MuseumArmy Museum
Army Museum

Army museum we passed on our way back from Lake Taupo
Balcony ShotBalcony Shot
Balcony Shot

View from the balcony on our floor in the hostel
BushBush
Bush

Haha Richard took this picture while it was on my chest. He needed a black background and my shirt was dark....end of story
Middle FingerMiddle Finger
Middle Finger

Richard and Yash being silly
MountainMountain
Mountain

Sweet Mountain we drove by on our way up to Lake Taupo
Rock n RollRock n Roll
Rock n Roll

Yash and I
ShockerShocker
Shocker

Yash and I doing the Shocker
VanVan
Van

On the back of this van, the guy spray-painted.... "Women Fake Orgasms Because They Think Men Care"
WalkwayWalkway
Walkway

Sweet walkway in Wellington
WaterfrontWaterfront
Waterfront

We walk by here almost every day heading to or from where all the action is
YashYash
Yash

Yash taking a picture of Richard taking a picture of him


Tot: 0.353s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb