First Maori Culture Hour


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 13th 2005
Published: July 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I just finished my first Maori Culture Hour experience. It took place in the meeting house, I forgot the real Maori word for it (Wharenui ?). But we learned a basic Maori dance and learned part of a song that is sang during the Maori welcoming ceremony. The gathering of tribes is the ceremony and it is called a Powhiri. One week ago the class, MAOR 123 experienced a Powhiri on the edge of campus right outside the meeting house, Wharenui. It was a much lower key Powhiri than what occured up in Rotorua when I was chief, becuase then the Maoris performed a Haka Powhiri, which basically means that they show off thier skills with weapons right infront of the foreign chief, which was me. A Haka Powhiri is also usually performed when one or more of the visitors are important people. During the Powhiri it is decided wheather the visiting tribe comes in peace or for battle. I have been learning all about this ceremony in my Maori Culture and Society class, it has been very interesting.

Well I'm gonna go have some lunch at a local cafe, thier vegetable sandwhiches are great.

Advertisement



1st January 2006

my husband was maori and i am scottish i am uinterseted in his cultural

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb