Test #3/Party


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
July 9th 2005
Published: July 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

UmagaUmagaUmaga

This is the captain of the All Blacks team. He is crazy and lots of fun to watch in action.
The 3rd Test was on. The ABs were predicted to kick ass a 3rd time. I went to a bar called Shooters with Dixie, Kim, Kristen, Adam, Andy, and Jared. We watched the game on a big plasma tv in the bar packed with fans. It was estimated that between 20,000 and 25,000 Lions fans were in Wellington for the 2nd game, now there were less. The ABs were weaker because many of the normal starters were not playing due to injury or other reasons. During the game I bumped into my Maori Society and Culture professor, Dennis. He is a really cool Maori gentleman. The 3rd test was in Auckland and the ABs were in control, winning 38-19. These last 3 games have been huge here.

The All Blacks' rugby games are as big as the superbowl, world series, and nba finals combined.

www.allblacks.com


After the game I came back to my flat with a few friends, expecting many people to be in my living room because my roommate, Haley said that we were going to throw a party for her. My American friends and I were somewhat dissapointed and were hangin
Umaga BillboardUmaga BillboardUmaga Billboard

This picture was all over Wellington during the 3 Lions tests.
out for about 15 minutes and Kristen said that she would knock on a few peoples' doors to see what was up. She returned no longer than 3 minutes later with what looked like a train of Kiwis. Many of them I already knew and we all had a great time. I showed them how to play an American drinking game called beer pong, they enjoyed it thouroughly. It was Kim and I vs. team after team. We finally lost but it was great fun. Kim was wearing a polka dots shirt and many of the Kiwis didn't know her name because she doesn't live in McKenzies, so right before she would shoot, everybody would shout out polka dots! polka dots! polka dots!!! It kinda phased her and she would miss everytime they did it. It was all in good fun. Then they started yelling out Napoleon! Napoleon! Napoleon!!! I took my time and concentration, and hit the shot and everybody went wild. There must have been about 30 people in my living room. Everybody had a great time. My friend Angela got back that night and showed up at the party, she spent some time on the south island in pickton kayaking, exploring, and going on boat rides. It sounded really exciting. I want to go there and check it out sometime soon, maybe when it warms up a bit...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1998s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb