Thanksgiving and Pebbles


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington
December 5th 2006
Published: December 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

owl and pebbles 1owl and pebbles 1owl and pebbles 1

This is so cute I can hardly stand it
Hi Everyone!
Well it was the first Thanksgiving that I actually made all myself and it actually came out a success! Surprizing I know! But I have the photographic evidence to prove it. Since I was a bit depressed on having Halloween kind of float by with only glowing watermelons to show for it I decided to go all out for Thanksgiving. And no thanksgiving is complete without turkey. Thinking it would be dangerous and impossible for me to cook a turkey myself I called all the butchers and supermarkets in wellington searching for an all ready cooked bird. No luck. So it was up to me to scour the internet for tricks, tips and general knowledge on how to roast a turkey. After feeling confident enough with my research I went off to find the smallest bird I could, it was about 6 pounds and of course, frozen solid. So having one day before thanksgiving I treated the frozen fowl to a cold bath of water, changing the water every 30 mins just like the blessed cooking site told me. After 3 1/2 hours my turkey was no longer frozen and now it was ready for an overnight brine bath.
owl and pebbles 2owl and pebbles 2owl and pebbles 2

Nap-time in emily's room
Believe me, I had no idea what brine was before this day but apparently it really makes the turkey juicy and I agree. So long story short there was no problem with roasting the turkey, it came out really well and we had rolls, twice baked potato casserole, brocolli, cranberry dressing and paradise pumpkin pie ( pumpkin pie with a layer of cheesecake on the bottom) it was very good and Shaun, Vicki and I ate until we wanted to pop. It was a true thanksgiving feast. The only thing that went wrong was that I was under the impression that a meat thermometer ( which I stuck in the turkey's leg) is suppoesed to stay in the bird the entire time while it's cooking. Apparently this is not the case with the particular model I bought and the glass on the top melted and got all bubbly. Yay for an emily mistake.
And now for some more about pebbles our new kitten in the flat. She is very very cute and can be seen taking naps around the flat and near some of my stuffed animals. My flattie Korena just put up a christmas tree and Pebbles is
bella the skunk and pebbles 1bella the skunk and pebbles 1bella the skunk and pebbles 1

Ah the orange chair, it seems to be a cat magnet
very excited about the new edition, she especially enjoys chewing the branches and the tinsel. Hope you like the pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

pebbles and the washingpebbles and the washing
pebbles and the washing

Pebbles finds my sheet drying on the clothes horse
pebbles and the washing 2pebbles and the washing 2
pebbles and the washing 2

She decides she wants to bring the sheet along with her
pebbles and the washing 3pebbles and the washing 3
pebbles and the washing 3

there may be a problem
Oh wellOh well
Oh well

Good bye meat thermometer, thanks for not shattering in my eye


5th December 2006

yum
that paradise pumpkin pie looks so freaking good. and your kitten is adorable!!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.036s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb