Trains, Buses, Boats and Planes


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Wellington » Eastbourne
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Haha - yes today I was in Eastbourne...confused?? No I am not back home but I took a train then a bus to Eastbourne NZ, which is pretty close to Wellington - then I got a boat back across the harbour then andother train...and tomorrow it will be a plane and I will sadly be saying goodbye to my lovely Wellington family and the North Island. And it will be hello South Island and Chrsitchurch.
This will have to be a quickie blog as it is almost midnight - I have been packing and what a mess I seemed to have after a month here travelling without really having to worry about everything being neatly packed into my 2 cases for the plane!! We all had a yummy farewell NZ lamb roast dinner and I think I have had 3 or 4 glasses of bubbly - lost count.
Since the last blog I have had a long bus trip to New Plymouth when unfortunatley the weather wasn't so good so in spite of being at the foot of Mount Taranaki , a volcano ,all weekend I only glimpsed the top momentarily. But anyway I was taken to a very interesting museum with some fantastic dioramas and very detailed models at Tawhiti..and there was such a lot of very local history telling about the Maori wars with Britain in the 19th century...never knew anything about that. We had a trip around the base of the mountain - much farming around there but quite a lot of rural poverty too . There are many walks there but to climb the mountain you need about 8-10 hours so we settled for a 40 mins nature walk through the bush - beautiful lichens and mosses growing there. Thanks Sally for that.
Back in Wellington I have been psyching myself up to leave and settled for a couple of days relaxing - reading books and Embassy cinema ( KIngs Speech - brilliant) which is where Peter Jacksn premieres his films -its a beautiful art deco bldg-and I've been wandering around Wellington - you can walk across the city in about 30 mins so it is quite compact ... and I really like the harbourside - old wharves and ships and cafes, restaurants etc.
Then today being my last day I thought I better go to see Eastbourne - and there it is - quite different- I paddled in the sea there which is so clear.
Well thats the news tonight.
See you all in Christchurch.
Love Lynne



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



10th February 2011

Eastbourne Beach
Hi Lynne You don't mention picking up Paua shells on Eastbourne beach - perhaps you didn't have time! We also saw the Eastbourne buses .... You will love Christchurch - botanical gardens great even in the rain! Jill xx
10th February 2011

Safe onward journey
That's the best way to drink bubbly, Lynne--always lose count of the number of glasses!! I feel sad to be leaving the North Island & I'm not even there but you make me feel as though I almost am. Have a safe journey south & have a good flight. Lots of love & hugs from Pauline, in a very damp and rather grey Scotland :-(
10th February 2011

Eastbourne NZ
Hi Lynne, I know I normally email but I thought I'd leave a comment this time, just to say how nice it was to see some photographs of you, especially looking so well and happy. I like the look of the beach at Eastbourne NZ. Have a fabulous time in Christchurch and enjoy your time with M & T. Love to you all, Chris xx
14th February 2011

Quick blog!
We want more blog. You have short changed us. Love those tropical beauties.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb