Lake Taupo


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Taupo » Wairakei
November 24th 2015
Published: November 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Didn't win the $10,000 hole in one challenge. Was really windy, a swirling wind too, so I didn't even come close to be honest.

Went on a sunset booze cruise on Lake Taupo. Really beautiful. There are a ton of really nice homes on the ridge overlooking the lake. Really clear lake too. Could see the bottom at places it was 20 feet deep.

Today I did the hike. Was the hardest hike I've ever done in my life, but such an amazing view. The basic walk is a 19km hike which is supposed to take 6-8 hours. You have the option of also climbing the volcano, which is an additional 3 hours. So yeah, I climbed the volcano.

It was incredibly steep and the rocks were really loose, so every step you took, you slid back down. I got so frustrated at one point I almost gave up and turned around. It was also really windy, like I had to aim in a different direction I wanted to walk because the wind pushed me over. It's an active volcano and there is still steam coming out of it at some points.

Got to the top and was completely bewildered by the view. Was all worth it. Legs are feeling a bit sore tonight though. I'll post some pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb