Learning. Working. Growing.


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
August 13th 2009
Published: August 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Spiky!Spiky!Spiky!

Picture of the Devil's Houseplant in prime oceanview location
So yesterday I worked, no but really worked. There is a plant here that I lovingly nicknamed "Satan's Houseplant." The plant has inch and a half long spikes- or "midget's death spear"- amongst alluring yellow flowers thet are truely evil- or they were until Nelson crushed my theory of wrathfullness. Anyways I spent yesterday following a guy with a chain saw willingly grabbing hold of full trees of these Cheeky Bastards and tossing them into the back of the 4wd golf cart truck. You should see the pile we made. So then after hours of this I was called into the garden where Nelson stopped my ranting of the Devil's Houseplant and told me it is a legume (along with beans and peas) and it is a fancy plant because it takes Nitrogen from the air and pulls it into the soil creating fertility where there was none- This Devil plant actually creates life where it is steril, this plant seemingly out to kill has only the fancy ability to bring back life and makes soil habitable where as before it was not... I know!
And after working out of spite and vengence with the spikey SOB's, with deep holes all over my arms and legs, I began to love them as well, and from the gnarly ripping and snapping and tossing craziness I went to the most delicate act around- watering baby lettuces. This requires the sweetest little dribble of water penetrating the babies roots as well. And yet I loved the babies as much as I loved the spikeys, because without one there is no opportunity for the other and without the other there is no appreciating the one. I think I grew a little today.
Peri


Advertisement



16th August 2009

Thanks
Hi Louie Once again you have proven to me you are to be an author of some kind. You really do have a gift , so thank you . I look forward to hearing from you I start to wonder after a week or so . So keep in touch I love you Mom
19th August 2009

nice
Nice, but I already taught you that. No good without bad, happy without sad, dark without light. That's why the idea of heaven doesn't make sense. Peri, I will tell you again!!! You are a fantastic writer, Post your "lesson of the day" every day!!. Peri's Blog The University of the Globe "U of G". Do you move on soon? Love you, Dad

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb