The Battle of the Tui


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
August 21st 2009
Published: August 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay so before I can tell you about the battle I need to introduce two key characters; Sweet Maria and the Tui. Sweet Maria from Argentina, she has the round face of a doll with long lashes and round eyes to match. Paired up with the most precious Spanish accent and her broken English makes her eyes seem even bigger with innocence and her frustration of vocabulary makes her childlike and makes me giggle. I have never heard sweet Maria say a negative thing about anything. So, Maria and I live in the the last caboose- definitely a designated Wwoof room- the door needs a good half dozen hip shoves before it opens enough to get in. And a genius decided to put the light switch in the center of the 7 1/2 ft ceiling, so the ol' jump n' switch is a necessary move, so 6 hip shoves and about 10 finger jams later you are in the room, the cold metal room with 4 vents in the ceiling: enter the Tui. The tui are local birds, black in color with a funny little white bow tie on, and they are known for their song- they mimic sounds they hear and they are so fancy with their sounds because they have not one but two voice boxes- this means this proper little bird has got some serious diversity in its morning music preference, let alone the pitch these buggers can get to. Make sure to listen at full volume and in a metal box to get the full effect:

The Tui Cry
A tui lives in our ceiling on the other side of the vents. So I've come to except the tuis morning songs amplified in the metal room, at 7:15 every morning, but yesterday their was a battle, an ambush! At the crack of dawn two tuis screamed, scratched, clicked and flapped- vibrating the entire caboose. After the 2 minute battled ended Maria and I were staring at the ceiling in disbelief when Sweet Maria from Argentina turns over to me and with her face straight as an arrow and says "We will Kiill t'eese birds." I giggled and went back to sleep. I didn't hear the Tui sing this morning.

Advertisement



26th August 2009

haha
Sweet Maria from Argentina turns over to me and with her face straight as an arrow and says "We will Kiill t'eese birds." So funny. So? Did she? Need picture of this chick.
26th August 2009

Peri, I love reading your blogs. You always make me feel like I right there with you. Your writings are wonderful and I decided that writing is your calling, so keep them coming with the pictures... Sounds like you are having the time of your life and what an experience and an education... You are a lucky lucky girl.... Loved the pictures of you that Madi posted. You are only one the didn't change. I didn't even know you then, but just can imagine...Have the time of your life. I love and miss you tons. Hugs....

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb