Skills, Stubbies and Sweetness


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
August 26th 2009
Published: August 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Im breaking boundaries, expanding my mind and growing muscles!
I decided to make a small and definitely incomplete list of the new experiences I've had here during my first month down under the Down under. So here in no particular order, things I have never done before and experienced for the first time in New Zealand:
Made Dulce de' leche (I think its the next easiest thing after boiling water)
Made Pizza in an outdoor hand built oven using wood I cut, dough I made and some veggies I picked!
Drove a Car on the left side, legally
Used a hot water bottle at night (I think I would cry without it)
Used a wood sander (I sucked at it)
Ate white bread with butter and chocolate sprinkles (apparently this is a staple treat for kids in Holland... its pretty good- well its bread and chocolate sprinkles of course its good)
Stained wood
Danced with a poi staff on fire (metal staff with fire wicks on the end)
Fed worms (compost)
Did laundry by hand
Weaved with Flax I picked
I have never felt so in charge or decisive. Never before have I felt so independent and capable. I realized that its a choice, either I take full responsibility for myself or I need to rely on other people to feel safe. I know that its a sacrifice, a trade, of independence for loneliness but I feel like I can channel the loneliness to grow my independence. I feel strong and willful, in the words of Cartman from South Park "I do what I want!"
Never before have I been apart of such a small town- Ive been here for a month and already I know half the town.
And lastly- never before have I seen so many muscled men in short shorts. Okay so let me paint a picture of the local Maori Kiwi man for you- this ranges from teens to old guys- same style. So start out with Burly bronzed man, stocky muscled legs and arms, 5 ft. tall. Black hair, face similar to a Hawaiian. Add tribal tattoos. Now Enter the shorts, I mean Short shorts and Tight- its like, take Greg Noll's shorts from the 60's and fit them around a tree trunk- same effect. And finally the key to the Maori man's fashion, ugg boots- the shorter ones. And there you have it- its classic! Tree trunk in stubbies planted in fur boots- excellent!!
Thanks for checking in, I love all of you and please send me messages, its exciting for me plus it makes me want to keep writing here.
Ill take some photos of my fellow Wwoofer friends and post them next time!
Peri







Advertisement



26th August 2009

ha
Peri, That made me laugh out loud here in CoCo's. Your description of the men in their short shorts. Very similar style here too, except in Palm Springs they walk with a little swing in their step. I went hiking yesterday at the top of the tram. I remember you liked that tram. I will drive up to Oregon for Mom's 90th then I'll go to Mt Whistler, Canada. Nobody has any money here in the USA so....... Your brother sucks. He won't call me back, let alone play tennis. I think it's the girl. So, how long will you stay at the caboose? Drive on the left side "Legally" HaHa. IDEA!! Write down classic Kiwi phrases when you hear them. Love You. MISS YOU Dad
8th September 2009

hey
Hey Dammit! We're waiting!!!
30th September 2009

wow!
Peri, What an expierence, right?? I have a visual of the kiwi men, what about the women? The pizza sounds awesome, is it similar to pizza pizza? Do you sell al the veggies to local places or what? Have fun Peri and you are capable of ANYTHING!!!!Thanks for keeping everyone who loves you posted. I see your mom Friday yea! Take care, Love you, Mindy

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb