For All of the Children of All Species for All Time


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
October 9th 2009
Published: October 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My loyal fans! Im sorry its been so long! I had a feeling that would happen...
Wow so what a month its been! Raglan is like Hotel California:
"Last thing I remember, I was
Running for the door
I had to find the passage back
To the place I was before
"relax" said the night man,
We are programmed to receive.
You can checkout any time you like,
But you can never leave!"

But finally I am breaking away- my friend Liz and I are making our way North- to where the sun is shining and its warm (no one bothered to let me in that the spring here is wet and cold- yesterday the sun broke through for the first time in weeks, seriously!) At the moment we are staying with a sweet family, spending our days building an "Earth insulation" out of clay, woodchips, paper pulp and straw. My hands look like a 70 year old farmers, my hair is split, clothes muddy, socks have holes and I feel Alive and Happy!
"The world will not evolve past its current state of crisis by using the same thinking that created the situation" -Albert Einstein
My mind has been opened to so many ideas in the last few weeks that comes with such great responsibility. I cannot turn my eyes from the truth, the fact that our rain forests are dying in direct relation with our consumer actions is no longer an idea beyond comprehension- it is truth that I have excepted and am ready to be apart of the solution to. Every moment that I am not working, eating or recovering from working I am reading and learning. There are so many things I want to share with you-
I challenge you to continue your own research of truth as well with these resources:
Book:
Cradle to Cradle- a visionary book that gives innovative solutions for change- the book is actually made of recycled plastics that have the technology to be reused and the ink can be striped and reused as well!
Videos:
Youtube lectures of William (Bill) McDonough- one of the authors of cradle to cradle he is a true visionary, willing to take on establishing an entirely new way of living, eliminating the existence of waste, he is an inventor and a leader of the sustainable movement- plus he is entertaining (dad I think you will really enjoy him)

The Story of Stuff- If you have not watched it do it now, a simplified vision of the way we live- storyofstuff.com
Movies:
Farmer John- This movie is amazing!! A true story of a southern farmer who is true to his heart and is the change that he wants to see. Not overcome by the demands around him, Farmer John is an inspiration to me- just being his quirky self he persevered when everything was against him- linking opposite worlds by just being himself. I love farmer John!
Garbage Warriors- A must see!! A beautiful documentary about sustainable housing.
The Shaman's Apprentice- "a story of survival against the odds. It interweaves the luminous rain forest world of phenomena and legends with western science and the grim realities of extinction. In the story of one man's quest to preserve the ancient wisdom of our species, we find the intelligence, cooperation and hope that could save one of the most glorious places on Earth."
Ill have to keep adding to this list!
I now have my Permaculture Design Certificate! The course covered alot more than I expected- everything from earth ovens to banking systems, from gardens and water utilization to community building and transition towns. It was a milestone in my life and has pushed me into excepting and working with the passion I have to be apart of the movement to save this planet from what we will do. So I do challenge all of you as we come into the season of giving and such to be conscious of what you buy and what you are a part of, because now is crucial, as both our oil dependency and availability peaks, there will be a big change but I want all of you to be apart of the good change- not forced into change because we use all of the resources but because its the way we should be living. Dont buy for the momentary relief, surprise, pleasure or fad but buy for longevity and sustainability. Please dont buy a child a toy that has harmed the planet- because you raise them for the future so lets leave them a future- its the best gift we can give. Change requires sacrifice, and sometimes living simply and going without, but it is for a cause much bigger than ourselves, us as a whole, how far we have come as humans it would be a shame to allow the momentary wants to destroy all we have built and all we are apart of. Im asking you to be conscious as consumers to recycle, to reuse, to clean out an old glass jar and reuse it rather than buying plastic, to walk and ride a bike when you can, because it really does make a difference.
It is the most exciting time to be alive- that I am convinced of, never before has a species made such an impact on the world and it is happening faster and faster.
Someone shared with me an awesome analogy-
Picture a large circle as ecology (the world in which we live)
Now in that circle a smaller circle of Society - There is no society without ecology, right?
Now within that circle we have our Economy- There is no economy without society.
And yet our system that we live in is completely inside out- Our economy rules our society which rules over our ecology.
Its true. and it will change, one way or the other. Thanks for reading, I hope you will do more research and I hope this is inspiring to all of you. I will share the resources of change that I find and I would love feadback from you as well on what you find and want to share.
Aroha nui!

Advertisement



9th October 2009

respect 4 the land makes a plesant life.
9th October 2009

Bummer Bill
A message from Bummer Bill... OK, We'll go with once per month blog. Peri, you sound just like a Hollywood Celeb. ....I love to see the passion.....and I hope you keep it up........However you need to know something.....Unfortunately it's all for not, because people refuse to deal with the REAL problem. And you know why? Follow the Money!!! Monthly World population figures: 07/01/09 6,768,167,712 08/01/09 6,774,705,647 09/01/09 6,781,243,583 10/01/09 6,787,570,618 11/01/09 6,794,108,554 12/01/09 6,800,435,588 01/01/10 6,806,973,524 02/01/10 6,813,511,460 03/01/10 6,819,416,692 04/01/10 6,825,954,628 05/01/10 6,832,281,663 06/01/10 6,838,819,599 07/01/10 6,845,146,634 That's an increase equal to 25% of the US population 307,000,000 In 12 months. You know how communities measure their success? Not by the quality of life but how many jobs they have.
10th October 2009

Positive Peri
Come on Bummer Bill- yeah you want to focus on the bad stuff take this: "In Brazil, 5.4 million acres of rainforest are destroyed each year. Destroying a rainforest is not cost-effective. In the Peruvian Amazon, for example, one hectare (2.5 acres) of land can produce $6, 820 per year if intact forest is sustainably harvested for fruits, latex, timber. If clear-cut, that same hectare is worth about $1,000 and can't be used again. If cattle-grazed, it's worth about $148 per year. With rainforest destruction, an estimated 137 species of life forms are driven into extinction each day." Idiots! all 6,845,146,634+ of them! And not only do we measure quality of life by availability of jobs but we also measure the quality of the job by how little we work. So things are backwards or completely inside out. But you know the population cant continue in this way, we will change the system or it will collapse and we will change. But the change will not come from the system it will come from the people, corporations are not the change, we as the population rule the demand and will be the change. You are one of my biggest inspirations dad, I talk about you constantly here (seriously!), one of the most level headed and balanced persons I know. You've managed to never let my "hero" image of you fade, so please don't start now. I know you've always had some pessimism in you but nows not the time. Devastation is accuring but we can't focus on it. What is so exciting are the new inventions that are like nothing we've ever seen, cities built underground- keeping agriculture on top, reusable books, beautiful houses built from trash... and so much more. We get to go back to the basics, whether we like it or not, back to handmade and hand labor. Exciting!! So quit it Bummer Bill, be good! Love you
10th October 2009

email
Hey I guess I'm supposed to comment here but I've already sent you a email but keep it up our POSITIVE PERI

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.09s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb