Raglan- One "Sweet-Azz" Town


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Raglan
August 9th 2009
Published: August 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

Waterfall outside Tauranga.
What is with "sweet-a-zz-," Im not sure I dig it but kiwi's keep planting it.
Thanks, loyal fans for checking back in with my blog, I love all 5 of you. ; )

Im really falling in love with this island, Its truely beautiful and the people honor and respect that beauty, and I like those people. Most everyone here is naturally helpful- to the point where when I say "Thanks so much, I really appreciate it" they stare at me wondering why I didn't expect them to help.
But I do get the same remark when I tip (tipping is never expected) "Hey! We really appreciate it, thanks! Sweet Azz"
Solscape is a really great place, I was picking lettuce out of the garden that overlooks Manu Bay's rolling waves and it really hit me how beautiful this place is- Every direction is natural beauty, from the layers of green hills with little grazing snowballs to the giant bay with waves crashing at dozens of different breaks. The waves have been huge and the weather has been pairing up to make all the surfers flock here- Every bed was booked last night.
I went over to the other side of
Lambies!Lambies!Lambies!

Baby season
the island- cause one of the woofers here was going to check out a van so I got to hitch a ride over to Tauranga. It was a port town, kinda fancy, delicious lates. We stopped by to see these waterfalls on the way back which was sweet- check out the pics.
I drew a big picture in the sand the other day at low tide- Its amazing how Huge the beach is with no one on it, so naturally I started making a sand-angel and thats when the sand flies attacked- lame.
Its nice chilling by the fire at night, everyone here came by themselves so we chill as a group, make food and share it, play cards, its really mellow. There is a professor who works at the university in the next town over, is from the states, and everytime he is in the garden I drop what Im doing to be his shadow. He walks me through what he's doing and his knowledge and confidence is contagious. I hope all is well back home, and I want all of you to jump in the ocean, Grandma, your the only exception that I can think of, unless you
CarCarCar

Learning how to drive stick shift with the left hand
want to then please jump with both feet first. But for the rest of you, enjoy the warm water for me. Love you all,
Peri
P.S. Oh I was just over at a local's house, a lady I met at the craft fair was willing to take me through some sewing basics for the pocket belts, and anyways there was a sticker on the sliding class door that I thought nothing of at first and then it hit me- That was a Lou's Records sticker! And upon closer inspection it was really was, "Lou's Records, est. 1980 Encinitas, California." She said it was there when she moved in, there was a bunch of stickers but she decided she liked that one and kept it. I think she kept it for me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Manu BayManu Bay
Manu Bay

View from Solscape
Leather TreasureLeather Treasure
Leather Treasure

Pile of potential pocket belts. Off cuts from furniture- rad!
Little HikeLittle Hike
Little Hike

Mom, you said you wanted pictures of me so I set the camera on a stump- I felt rediculous.
Labrinth...Labrinth...
Labrinth...

My sand art


9th August 2009

great
Peri, You are such a good writer. That sounds fantastic. You've got all your clothes spread all over the caboose, just like you like it. How long will you stay? Do they feed you? Do they like your foreign accent? Love you, Dad
10th August 2009

Thanks for the pics of yuo now take some of all the people thats a good way to remember them all other wise it gets kinda foggy,Dick Taylor and I went for a midnight swim last night !!!!
12th August 2009

checking up on you.
Hey Peri, I haven't got to see your blog for a week because I was in New York seeing Mady in her opera. It was amazing. We flew back yesterday and Madyson will be home until the 24th. I love seeing your pics and reading your blog. It seems like a fairytale. I can't wait to see you and your new home. Is it raining? Do you have the right clothes? Remember "NO DAIRY" LOVE YOU, Nyla
13th August 2009

periiii
hey lovely! soooo i just got news that you had a blog! how exciting! looks absolutely amazing per! i just love reading about your journeys and the pics are gorgeous! be well. much love. sarah

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb