More relaxed day!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Firth of Thames
December 13th 2012
Published: December 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Had a much more relaxed day today.

Stopped at a place called Katikati where they very arty. It is called mural town because of all of the artwork on the buildings. I took a walk out of town along the river on The Bird Walk, which as sculptures of birds. In town the walk along the river has a number of poems carved into boulders along the route. Loads of great artwork in the shops too.

I am tempted to buy another piece of art. I have already bought a wood block print of a Pukeko, it was created by artist who lives in the woods with no electricity, so everything he does is truly handmade. I would also like something to remind me of the Tui. The Tui has quite a complex call which means that I have been able to spot them on my walks.

Had lunch in Paeroa and had wander around the antique shops. Carried on north and followed coast which had beautiful blue seas and I was at campsite by 4! Much earlier than the last couple of days.

Staying at Orere Point tonight and will be heading to Auckland tomorrow.

Only 2 more sleeps before I catch my flight back to the UK 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb