Long day


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Plenty
December 12th 2012
Published: December 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I had a very long day yesterday. Caught the 8am ferry from Picton to Wellington. I have been trying to fit in a walk everyday, so when I got to Wellington I drove to Belmont Regional Park to fit in a walk. When I got there I was absolutely knackered so decided to have a nap. When I took my boots off my foot was quite red and swollen so I was a bit worried that the infection from my insect bites had spread. I decided that after my nap I would track down another doctor. When I woke up my foot looked a lot better so took a walk as originally planned.

The brochure said the walk would take an hour, but it seemed to take a lot longer!! I had a bite to eat in the van and headed north. I was getting a bit worried abiut the amount of ground I need to cover to make sure I am in Auckland by Friday night.

Stayed at Dannervick last night. Went Napier earlier today and had a walk around. Napier was rebuilt in the 1930's after an eartquake, so the buildings are mostly Art Deco.

Left about lunchtime and put quite a few miles in! Stopped for a coffee at a truckstop and had a lengthy chat with a local hunter about the fact that the Dept of Consevation do arial drops of 1080 bait to kill possums, problem is it kills anything that eats it not just the possums. They really do not like possums!!

There are as many possums in New Zealand as there are people; and some people making a living out of trapping possums. This is also why my hunter friend does not like Dept of Conservation doing arial drops of poison; it puts the possum hunters out of a job!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.6kb