*Ahem*


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Dargaville
January 20th 2006
Published: January 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As I was so rudely interrupted by the computer saying I had no more credits.....

After my visit with Tane Mahuta, I then heading back down to Opononi to have a nice swim on the beach. People have told me that up until recently, there had been a friendy dolphin that would come to shore and play with the locals. Unfortunuately, the dolphin died just a short time ago. I found myself wishing I could find such a dolphin, to laugh and swim with, and even try to play with. Sadly, there was no such dolphin, but I found people surfcasting (fishing from shore with big rods). It felt a little like South Carolina to me. So I took a little dip in the Hokianga Harbour, wished I had a boat to get over to the sand dunes, and cooled off. I looked at my watch and found that it was about 4pm, time for me to be getting back to KeriKeri. So here are a couple more pictures of where I went for a nice swim, and the view from where Tane Mahuta is.

I have also decided that February the 6th is my departure date from KeriKeri
Swimming in Hokianga HarbourSwimming in Hokianga HarbourSwimming in Hokianga Harbour

You can charter a boat over to the sand dunes to do some sand surfing
and the beautiful North. I'm mapping out where I want to visit in the central north island. I'm relying on my Lord of the Rings Location book to guide me, and also some tips from the locals. I am glad to say that my first stop is a small town called Matamata, the home of Hobbiton (hears cheers from LOTR's fans) It is the most northern film site, so I'm glad that it will be my first in a many series of film sites. Then it's off to Mount Doom, or Okahune to spend a couple of days. Maybe spend the night in the same room that a hobbit stayed in, and see where Frodo and Sam struggled to destroy the one ring! I'm very excited to be lucky enough to visit such film sights, and know that I will be taking tonnes of pictures for everyone to see.

This weekend I am going back to the hot springs to soak my body with my co-worker Pam, then on Saturday night to a get together at Browny's place. And of course, the regular Saturday laundry. If there's a constant here in NZ, it's laundry, and it seems forest fires.
View from High UpView from High UpView from High Up

When you exit from Tane Mahuta, this is the nice view.

It's quite sad. There have been a couple of forest fires here in the area recently. It's just so dry here. It seems like there's been no rain for at least 2 weeks. The plants at the nursery are crying for rain, and I wish there was a day where it would just rain. To keep everything nice and green, and moist.

My bosses have asked me what I would like to do on the 3rd, as it being my last working day at the nursery. I haven't decided, I'm thinking maybe fishing, but we'll have to see.....

Here's a little bit of trivia for you.....
Tell me what you think this word means, it being all Kiwi slang, I find it fascinating...

Togs = ?
Trundler = ?
Capsicum = ?
Torch = ?
Jandles = ?

let me know what your guesses are!



Advertisement



20th January 2006

what's that word?
Togs = bathing suit (or "swimmers") Trundler = no clue! Capsicum = sweet peppers Torch = flashlight Jandles = dunno The ones I did know aren't specific to NZ, the Aussies and/or brits use the same slang. Live with an Aussie for a year, you'll hear some f'ed up stuff!
23rd January 2006

my guesses
well I know a torch is a flashlihgt, beyond that you got me. be safe going up north!

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb