My last few days in KeriKeri


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Kerikeri
February 3rd 2006
Published: February 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sad to say, I had my last day at KeriKeri Plant Production yesterday. It's hard to describe how I'm feeling. Some parts of me want to stay because I have gotten to know people here. The other part is ready for more uncharted land in New Zealand! I felt at times like I really wasn't a traveller, a foreigner of sorts. I felt like I was a local, going about what most people do. Having a full time job, a car, being stable I guess. One of my co-workers, Sandy, started to get all teary eyed yesterday when she said goodbye to me. Of course, that got me started, so we were both crying and sort of laughing at the same. She said to me, "You damned backpackers! You worm your way into our hearts, and then leave!" That really hit home for me, because they are your family when you're away from home. Some are parental figures, and some take more of a friend role.
My tentative plan right now is to basically head straight down the center of the North Island starting next Friday . Sadly, I'm dropping Geshe off in Auckland ( I'm quite scared about the roundabouts in Auckland......once again my roundabout phobia has returned, and just when I felt like I'm pretty confident about driving over here). Hitting Matamata (Hobbiton), then down to Rotoroa to Zorb (like being in a hampster ball, but much more fun), next to Taupo to do some free camping, free hot springs soaking and the Tongariro Crossing (the best one day hike in N.Z.) and visit Okahune (Mount Doom) to do some hiking there and to recite something about strawberries, cream and Rosie (get it?). I'm taking a crack at working on a Wwoof farm, even though I've heard some real horror stories about them abusing workers and making them stay in horrible conditions. I'm due at the Wwoof farm north of Wellington on Feb. 27th, so that gives me about 2 weeks to make my way down there, hitting all the Lord of the Rings locations humanly possible. And yes, I am sleeping in my van as much as humanly possible on this leg of my journey. I'm planning on meeting up with Geshe again, as she is going to be taking a language course in Wellington at the start of March. I will then cross Cook Strait with my van in tow and see the beauty of the South Island, and hopefully get hooked up with a job either at a winery (free samples..woohoo!) or the Cadbury factory in Dundein (free samples..woohoo!)

Geshe, Michaela, and I are going camping on Monday! We're going to Orapukupuku Island to camp for three days. We are all looking forward to it! I'm especially looking forward to playing cards into the late hours of the night. But I'm not looking forward to the mosquitos!
Peace and quiet, and a chance to recharge our batteries before heading south. I wonder what interesting people I will meet on this next leg of my tour. I've also been thinking about going to Austrailia at the end of May.

Just to fill you in on what I've been doing recently,
2 weeks ago, Geshe, Hadas (jewish "princess" girl), Fong (Geshe's boss) and I went to Mataulie Bay just north of here for a nice swim, some sun, and some relaxation. I also was the active one who climbed up to see the monument for the Rainbow Warrior. As hopefully most of you know, the Rainbow Warrior was the Greenpeace ship that was sunk in Auckland harbour by the French government. One man died due to the bombing. It was then brought up north, about 5.6 kms off shore and is now being used as a man made reef for scuba divers. I wish I could show you pictures, but just my luck, I have no access for my camera. It's cool because they took the propeller from the Rainbow Warrior and worked it into the monument.
Last weekend I spent with my co-worker Pam, and we basically rented horror flicks, and relaxed. It's sad that I'm finally able to spend some time with her, and now I'm leaving. But I feel that I'll keep in touch with the people I worked with. I would hate to leave a place and not keep in touch.

So here are the answers for the slang terms:
Togs = Bathing Suit
Trundler = Shopping Cart
Capsicum =Sweet Peppers that look like a tomatoe on the inside
Torch =Flashlight
Jandles = Sandles

Here are some more:
Dear=?
Bludger=(and no it's not from Harry Potter)?
Chilly Bin=?
Kia Ora=?
Moko=?
Bro=?
Mozzies=?




Advertisement



12th February 2006

Fun
Hi Tara, just browsing your web, looks like you are really enjoying yourself so nice reading all about your travels, take care of yourself in everything you do. Until next time, Love ya aunti Edwina and uncle vince

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb