From Loading pen to a wonderland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel » Coromandel Town
February 19th 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Jucy Travel GuideJucy Travel GuideJucy Travel Guide

Jucy travel assistant All the Jucy brochures for my camper show a girl in the shower so I had to take a pic of my assistant
The first Day and a half: Feb 17 thru 19th.
I made it to LAX with no problems albeit an hour late because of a 150 mph headwind. However that really didn’t matter because I arrived at 11:25 and didn’t depart for Auckland until 8:30PM. As I waited to board the plane at LAX the scene reminded me of a cattle holding pen. The herd is milling around looking anxious, bewildered and some just blase'. Once on the plane the atmosphere was a little more like a combo pajama party and Boy Scout camp out. Even though I took a sleeping pill I didn’t get much rest as my neck was in a knot. Arrival in Auckland went smoothly even though the plane trip computer said the current temp at 6:24 AM was 147. The day has been hot and muggy but certainly more like 80 than 147. I got the Jucy camper, took the pic of my assistant for Norm and proceeded to get desperately lost. I had to stop for instructions not once but 3 times. I have given up on macho long ago. I stopped at the Warehouse, which I though was like Wal-Mart but turned out
White knuckle DrivingWhite knuckle DrivingWhite knuckle Driving

First day drive to Coromandel Town. My first taste of narrow curvy roads.
to be a weird combination of stuff, which was really more like an oversized Big Lots. Pack and Save was much more rewarding. Driving on the left isn’t too bad the only thing I am still working on is when I start to pull out onto a road I look to the left and expect to see some one coming on my side instead of the other side. A guy (mate) told me to just make sure I didn't get hit in the drivers side door and that would be the best rule of thumb. The drive out to Coromandel town was very exhilarating (read narrow windy roads) the last 10 miles reminded me of Costa Rica. I stopped in town and had a beer and then drove the 5K out to the campsite. I am very tired and will likely have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich and go to bed as soon as it gets dark. Speaking of peanut butter, when I asked where it was at the grocery the clerk smiled a big smile as if to say, he must be an American.
English - I told friends it would be easy traveling here because they
Coromandel TownCoromandel TownCoromandel Town

Second morning. Rainy day.
speak English. Well, first it is at a pace that would put an American pre-teen girl to shame and the vowels are all pronounced differently. West is wist, weather is wither. You get the idea.


Advertisement



22nd February 2009

Ah, the joy of being lost
Reminds me of my solo trip to Europe in my youth--I just followed the smiles for 3 months and stayed lost 1/3 of the time. Enjoy and remember that you are never alone (it just feels that way sometimes). Onward!
24th February 2009

I checked in!
There's no shame in waiting until you have time to do a long post. Just a note once in a while to let us know you're all right is fine! I really enjoyed writing the report AFTER I got back. It made the sorrow of separation from such a wonderful place much easier to bear. I'm off to Arizona myself tomorrow, so I may not read much more until I'm back on the 6th of March. I hope your trip is even better and more memorable than mine!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb