First full day-am I really here?


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Coromandel
February 20th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke this morning to a light rain that got progressively worse and continued all day -After breakfast at a local cafe I headed east. I am "treated" to my first curvey and hilly roads. The scene is very tropical with furns, palms and other coastal flora. As the road broke onto the coast just before Kuaorunu, I had my first oh WOW moment. Pouring rain, 10ft rolling surf and large volcanic rocks on the beach. I stood there in the misty rain for over half an hour taking in the sound of the surf and gulls. On Ron Laughlin’s suggestion I had contacted a lady named Glenda Bett to arrange for a day tour of the east coast. I called her and indicated I would be at Opoutere around four. I spent the day driving down the coast having a great bowl of chowder for lunch in Whitianga. Glenda met me at the turnoff to Opoutere and took me to one of the bachs (pronounced batch) that she manages. A 100% Made in New Zealander, she is something of a local legend. Full of energy, she is witty, frank and funny. After an hour of chatting about local history she headed
Pacific Ocean -CoromandelPacific Ocean -CoromandelPacific Ocean -Coromandel

Just me and the gull
off home and I settled in for a good nights rest.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb