In and around Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 17th 2013
Published: February 23rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

So it appears there are rather a lot of Irish folk here in Auckland…which the majority Jordan and Clare seem to be friends with. Sunday we head to watch the semi final of the Irish football league which a lot of their friends are playing in. Was great fun to watch the game and chat to people, it felt very normal life like, and the real side of Auckland.

After watching the match, Clare and I leave Jordan with the boys and head back to the centre. Clare has leant me her bike so I cycle along Quay street, over the bridge and along by the water. The water is stunning, crystal blue. I stop several times exploring mission bay and the pier before reaching my destination of St Helier. St Heiler is a tiny little village with a beach on it, and after brief wonder round the art exhibition on the green, I go for a lovely swim (despite the water being tad chillier than Oz) and spend several hours reading and relaxing on the beach in the afternoon/early eve sunshine, heading back at 6pm. In the eve Clare and I head to a lovely Indian restaurant for dinner and then meet Jordan after and go on a fabulous long walk around the city. Taking in Auckland at night, heading through the Viaduct area, along to Z pier and around past Westhaven marina. It provides stunning views of Auckland harbour bridge and the city lit up at night.

The next few days passes in a blur. I spend some time most days down in the viaduct area, on the water side, relaxing, reading and absorbing the atmosphere. One day I walk to Mount Eden (Maungawhau) which provides stunning views of the city and beyond, from coast to coast. On the return I head through Auckland Domain – large park land. Explore the winter gardens, pass the museum and the war memorial and then back through the university campus.

I also check out the famous K’road whilst I am here – the alternative side to the city. K’road is lined with shops full of crystals, gems, insence, beaded jewellery and alternative/vintage clothing shops. I spend a while rummage through, and the op shops, primarily to find a suitable jumper, and also because I am intrigued by some of the clothing. I should note that new Zealanders have no real fashion crazes, and much like London anything goes, so there is fluffy jumper, all in ones and the majority being genuinely around 30 years old. These vintage and op shops are very popular, with most people shopping in them, unlike in the UK, because the price of clothes is soo high here, people can’t afford to buy new – so very good environmentally, reusing clothes rather than throwing away!

Just on the outskirts of the cbd, in the Parnell region is a sea water, unheated outdoor swimming pool, known as Parnell pools. Being in Auckland I couldn’t miss this opportunity so I headed down on the penultimate day to check it out. The pool is massive, it was a square 50m by 50m so it had plenty of lanes to swim in. It was a little chilly to start as it was unheated, but warmer than I expected. The most noteable thing about the swim was the sea water. When you swim you are very slightly more buoyant, which helps, but if you time your breathing wrong and catch some sea water it isn’t so tasty, and swimming in it dehydrates you as I came out VERY thirsty. Overall though, it was a great swim, and one to mark down as a first in a sea water pool.

On the last evening I wonder through Albert park, the city is littered with lovely green spaces, some large some small, and Albert park is right by Clare and Jordan’s apartment. There is a lantern festival starting next week, and there are large paper lantern displays all over the park of animals, flowers, people both hanging from trees and on the ground in preparation. This evening however they are obviously testing them, so I am very lucky to get the opportunity to see them lit. They are very pretty and it is lovely to spend some time wondering round looking at them all.

I feel like I have explored the city well in the few days I have been here, with not much apart from the islands over the water to explore.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb