Hello New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 14th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I last wrote whilst in the midst of Holi festival in Anjuna. I then had a mad dash to my hotel, where i got more covered in lovely colour, and then to the airport. Everyone there wished me a "Happy Holi", except the check in guy who said, "You're gonna have to wash that off your face or they won't let you through security" He was obviously getting in to the spirit of things. My face was orange, which is only just off the shade my face generally is anyways! But anyway, I arrived in Mumbai to find some of Adi's Rellies' in the flat, and they invited me to join them for dinner. And then forced me to eat, and eat and eat. Well the result was the next day I had the shits again, so did not visit the Elephant caves, or in fact leave the house that day. Zup Singh looked after me, despite the language barrier and nothing else eventful happened, except that I went and bought loads of books at the bookstalls and my bag is once again really heavy!
The next day I had an 18 hour journey from Mumbai to New Zealand. I didn't really sleep but did watch Twilight. It was ok, I did find myself looking round the plane for other entertainment at times though. I did like what I saw of Changeling though.
I am now in Auckland Central Base Backpackers Hostel. It's pretty nice and Auckland is just VERY clean and lovely compared to polluted Mumbai. It is gonna take some getting used to living with other people in the room with me and last night when i got to the room people were asleep and i had to try and sort myself out whilst dazed, sleepy and jet lagged without disturbing people. Hostels are so different to hotels. In case you didn't know. Today I wondered round the city a bit, spent too much money on a salmon and cream cheese bagel. But it was soooo good! It reminded my of 97 Alton Road. Those were the days. I miss you guys. And then I tried to figure out what I'm gonna do in this Country. I'm still not sure. But I think I'm getting there! I should be out in the sunshine right now in fact. I have a NZ mobile number, for those who want it message me. I may give it to you. Thats all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



15th March 2009

Well done on surviving India! Shame you had to spend your last day there with the shits :( You feel better now? I guess you're gunna have to get used to everything being about a million times more expensive in NZ! I agree with you re. dorms - they're such a hassle! But hopefully you'll meet some fun people with whom you can see the sites and party! Miss you. Will email soon. xxx
15th March 2009

yay new zealand!! your travels sound much fun, i have heard about the colour fest and definitely want to see it myself one day!! enjoy NZ and take care x x Hanface
18th March 2009

Chuff! I keep checking your blog to see what you're up to and it sounds as if you're having a smashing time! I look forward to a day months from now, when we get to catch up, and you can tell me all about your trip! Be well, x PS. This blog wouldn't be half as fascinating if it didn't contain your shitting habits!

Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb