Ballerina on the tarmac and a change of scene


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 5th 2008
Published: January 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Chau Argentina and kia oro New Zealand.
I flew out on new year's day and now I'm in Auckland, stopping for a few days with cousin Gerald, Tresna, two kids and a tubby cat. Creature comforts have dripped down upon me, starting with fush n chups, moving on to (imposter) marmite, earl grey tea, english breakfast tea, christmas tea and Guinness.
The last few days in Argentina were great though. I cycled and camped the seven lakes road and ended up in Bariloche after a morning of rain (strangely welcome) and 15 kms of ridiculous wind (not my own), which threatened to push me off the bike and reinforced my decision to quit, since this would have become the pattern for another 2000 km.
In between the rain and wind, the road provided an art gallery of tar drippings that I reckon are pretty fine and I stood in the middle of the road with camera in hand to snap them up.
New Year's eve began well with trapping my finger in a particularly hefty door and rediscovering my vernacular en route to a cold tap and finished modestly, slinking back to the hostel just gone midnight for an early shut-eye - just as well given a delayed 4am flight from Buenos Aires the following day.
There's so much of South America I haven't experienced, but by bike it would have got ridiculous and masochistic and NZ has always appealed, so here I am for the next couple of months.
I'm still a bit jet lagged and dopier than usual, but I'll get pedalling again after the weekend and see what happens.



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



5th January 2008

Land of the long white cloud?
A new adventure huh? Make sure you keep us updated with your adventures...you're going to LOVE New Zealand!!
6th January 2008

happy new year
yoohoo Mark, how are you doing? just got back from skiing trip both in one piece you'll be (surprised) glad to hear!!! Saskia keeping up with derek on skis!! Hope you're having a good start to 2008. looking forward to your update! Big hugs 'n wet ones Shona and Derek xx

Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb