Scandinavian folk songs by the river


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island
January 18th 2008
Published: January 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's roasting hot and I'm cutting down on the distances, so I can regain enthusism for cycling, which was wobbling loads, but is now beginning to recover. The grind in South America has had a similar effect to drinking too much and feeling sick at the mere thought of another drop or, in this case, pedal. I'm meeting other cyclists quite regularly now and they're all so keen I've felt like Eeyore at a Pooh Bear honey-fest (makes sense to me), but then a couple have said they're only doing about 50 km a day and aren't knackered at all, so I'm going to try to veer more that way for a bit. Lots of good stuff too. It's beautiful, in a less grand or stark way than South America for now and I've been for a dip in the ocean and a couple of rivers. And then last night I sat on a tree trunk and listened to a Scandinavian folk ban playing celtic-type tunes on a little stage at the campsite beside the river, had a few beers and it was perfect.
I'm now the only person in a hostel in the middle of nowhere, getting munched by sandflies attracted by the computer screen and my edible flesh, so because of that and the fact that I'm boring myself now, I'll stop.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0372s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb