A Day Downtown!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 27th 2007
Published: March 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I decided that it was time to venture out during the day instead of spending the whole day in doors. So at lunch time Hopper drove me to the train station so I could go downtown. The train is an actual train, not a c-train but a train. So its super loud and getto looking. To get downtown it cost $5 NZ dollars so I paid for a day pass which is $10, which seems crazy to me. And that pass you cant even use for the bus, you would have to pay something different for each bus you go on since there are no transfers here. So not only is transit not great here but its super expensive. It really makes you appericiate the transit we have back home. So once downtown the train station looks like part of an airport. All of the train stations were more getto then the ones back home and then the downtown one is really cool, its funny, I really dont understand them! So my sister met me for lunch and we just went to a food court in a mall. Then when she had to go back to work I had about 4 hours to kill by myself. But thankfully the street that she works on is also a really main shopping area so there was more then enough shops for me to go in. There is also alot of cool cafes will really good coffee in them. I think the best part of town town is the cross walks at intersections... Some of them you can walk all directions at all at the same time. So all of the cars stop and you can walk either way on cross walks or you can leave the cross walks and walk across to the other corner. Its crazy there is so many people moving at once all the time, it saves so much time when your trying to get to the other side, I love it! Thats whats weird about NZ is that there is things like that make so much sence that we should really get in calgary but then there are things like the transit that are way behind and not as good as calgary. After we left downtown we went and picked up things for dinner. They have lots of really good fish here that I finally got to try tonight.Also at all the grocery stores there is a whole liqure section. Not just a row with a few things but tons and tons of wine and stuff too. So you dont have to go to two different stores if you want drinks and dinner, its great! I was still really tired today so hopfully I will start getting use to the time soon.
Hope everyone at home is doing good. Thanks for your comments that people have been leaving, I'll post some pictures soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb