New Day, New Country


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
March 22nd 2007
Published: March 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

The rest of my time in Oz was pretty uneventful, however when I arrived I realised I had no idea on how to get to the ACB backpackers I was staying at. Had a slight panick but luckily there was a FREE internet cafe (which is very rare) and I foudn out which bus to take. The hostel was a bit scabby, but i shared my room with 2 girls who were really nice. We had a good chat and then I went off to the sky tower, at about 9pm. The life going up was pretty intense, it is all glass and I was standing on a bit of glass floor. It goes up so fast your ears pop.
It was pretty scary at the top, but amazingly beautiful as well. There was glass floors again and I even jumped on one. I felt very brave but then also a bit stupid... Oh well.
I got back and almost lay down in my chosen bed, but it was too gross - all stained, luckily there was another I could go in. I don't get why I always have to sleep in the top bunk. They are always noisy and the metal stairs you have to go up on hurt your feet.
I couldn't sleep for ages (although I think that was the last day of jetlag as now I'm sleeping fine yay) and woke up early to check out. there was a nice guy who helped me plan my travels in New Zealand (he looked a bit like daniel craig - wahey :D) and i decided to take a bus to Rotorua and stay for 3 nights, then fly to Queenstown and stay for 5 nights and then fly back to Auckland for a night and then fly on to Chile for my birthday!! I don't really want to go back to auckland - its just a city, but all the other flights were too late.
Anyway will write about Rotorua on a different blog as it will get too confusing...


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Night ViewNight View
Night View

Auckland from the Sky tower
My FeetMy Feet
My Feet

On the glass floor. Was very scary.
Night View 2Night View 2
Night View 2

Of Auckland from Sky Tower
Night View 3Night View 3
Night View 3

Of Auckland from Sky Tower
Night View 4Night View 4
Night View 4

Of Auckland from Sky Tower


Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb