Look Out Point


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 8th 2018
Published: November 8th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Right I am almost up to date. Here are my antics for 7th November.

I have no idea what time I woke, made tea and had breakfast, then washed a few clothes by hand and made lunch in preparation for my walk to Lookout Point.

More tea and settled to reading the book I bought an eternity ago a Heathrow.

Left for my walk about 10.30. The first 30 minutes was on a flat piece of road. No problem; the next section was more of a problem, all up hill. I stopped severely times to take in the view or catch my breath. I was beginning to realize that I am VERY unfit.

The next section was a much gentler gradient, got to the lookout and took well needed sit down. The walk up had not taken as long as had expected, so just had a drink and a banana. I am conscious of my blood glucose levels as they have been down every time I have tested them and I have had to lower my insulin dose.

I got chatting to a couple of locals who gave me a few places that should visit. They were talking about New houses being built and mentioned that there was no water supply at the site; it seems that in some parts of New Zealand you have to have water delivered by tanker to your own storage tank as there is no mains water supply.

The locals told the next section of the walk was very steep. They were not kidding, I seriously thought it would safer to slide down the grass path on my bum rather than walk it.

Got back to camp exhausted. I had lunch and tea.
I climbed in to back of the van to read my book, and soon fell asleep. I woke up about 5 o'clock. I really did not fancy pasta again for tea. I had a hankering for the fish and chips. I think the sign I had seen on the way to the local shops for a dairy and fish and chips had been talking to me.

Off I head to the dairy and got a burger and chips instead of fish and chips. It was just what I needed, I think it was meat I was craving.

I was tucked up in bed by 8.30. All this fresh air and exercise is properly tiring me out.













Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1302s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb