Getting there


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 22nd 2018
Published: February 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Airport Bike CopAirport Bike CopAirport Bike Cop

So this being San Francisco, this was taken just around the corner from the airport public yoga studio and the bicycle apparel store.
My adventure begins at the chiropractor, as all truly great adventures do. I walked in for a pre-vacation adjustment of my old-man spine. After barely setting foot in the door a man sitting in the waiting room commented “so you’re going on a trip eh?” “Yeah!?” I said enthusiastically but with that upward inflection one uses when they’re confused. “You’re probably pretty confused” the man surmised, brilliantly. “Yes…” I said, panicking that this person was someone important from the office whom I’d met previously but had completely forgotten. “You were at the McKenzie Towne barber shop this Sunday talking about your trip. I was there too, in the chair across from you.” Well well, small world I suppose… watch as this same guy would be beside me on my flight.

Speaking of flights, the first leg to San Francisco went not too bad. No delays or anything but there was a cavalcade of young children seated 2 rows ahead. In total there were 4 of them, their parents constantly trying to herd them into some semblance of order. One of them sounded like they were playing the “Wind Chime and Sparkle Noise” simulator on their iPad at full blast. But
Sams back porchSams back porchSams back porch

For the mining nerds out there there is a quarry up on the hill side.
I know better than that. Kids don’t have the attention span for something like that. No, this little girl was probably playing “Real Vegas Slots” and her infant brother was VERY vocal about her betting strategy.

I got to San Fran ahead of schedule, and enjoyed a US $50 meal of fried chicken and waffles with a Moscow Mule. I thought this was supposed to be America… At most that should have been $17.65. And come with unlimited gravy. I kept an eye on the women’s Olympic hockey game and felt out of place when a Dunkin Donuts commercial came on pledging support to a team of blue American jerseys… rather than Tim Hortons supporting a crowd of red jerseys. It’s just not hockey otherwise. I hear we unfortunately ended up losing in a shoot-out.

I’ve nothing to say about the long haul from San Fran to Auckland. If you want to experience it, sit in a kitchen chair facing right up against the wall and press your hands against the side of your head as hard as you can. I arrived in Auckland safely, with my good friend Sam, a fellow U of A miner, waiting to
CompanyCompanyCompany

Company while Sam is at work
pick me up. I was able to pick him out of the crowd easily as he was the only guy wearing “safety orange” since he had to run back to the job site right after. My watch says it 10:30AM but it feels like…mid afternoon? *sniff sniff* pew, scratch that, it’s shower time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 27; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb