Le Grande Road Trip to Amurica - Day 11 The End


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Montana
September 3rd 2017
Published: September 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Going to the Sun RoadGoing to the Sun RoadGoing to the Sun Road

A gentle but constant slope through Glacier National Park
Day 11

Kalispell to Calgary



Holy crap I’m tired. I think I’ve finally had enough. I want to go home. Ken does too. Don’t get me wrong its been an absolute blast but we’re both ready for home.

Today’s drive was relatively tame. Two and a bit hours over the “Going-to-the-Sun Road” and we’d be at the border. Then 3 “fun-filled” hours on Highway 2 from Cardston all the way home. Ken and I had snuck out after dark at “the quiet hippy’s house” in Victor to take a look at my Pony for any issues causing the overheating. We’d determined she likely just needs a coolant flush. Failing that it could be the thermostat. Both easy fixes once we’re home. No signs of head gasket failure or other terrible sounding issues. All I asked for was no drama on the last hills though Montana. The drive, though shrouded in forest fire smoke, was spectacular with no drama coming from the car whatsoever. Though the scenery was breath taking (haha get it? Because it was smoky!), our pace had an impatient-ness to it and once out of the mountains we charged across the southern Albertan plains
View from the roadView from the roadView from the road

Bit hazy out...
back home, making it to my front door before 1PM.

Since we’re engineers, we gathered some key performance indicators and statistics for this trip, which are as follows:

Total distance: 6659 km

Total fuel consumed: 641 L

Total driving time (time measured any time car was on): 78 hours 56 minutes

Average fuel economy: 9.6L/100km

Volume of bug debris removed from windshield: 4.8 L (okay I made that up)

Best planned activity: Durango Train

Best surprise: Zion National Park

Best meal: Cherry Cricket (Denver). Runner up: Barasa Mexican Grill (Provo)

Best Air Bnb: River’s in Coeur d’Alene (easy check in, sociable host)

Best hotel: Ramada Provo (Ken enjoyed the breakfast selection and overall cleanliness. I enjoyed chatting with Juliya)

Best store name: “Duranglers” (fishing store in Durango). Runner up: “Le Emporium” a sketchy timber trading post in Arizona.

Number of times Tyler almost went for a car wash but didn’t: Oh probably about 5

Most surprising thing learned about the other person: Ken’s afraid of heights; I’m not much of a dog or Red Hot Chili Pepper person.

Where would we go again to explore
Train FanTrain FanTrain Fan

I've made Ken more of a train fan. Mission success.
more: Ken would return to Yellowstone first; I’d like to go back to southern Utah around all the national parks.

If we could change one thing: Ken would apply more sunscreen to avoid a burn; I’d have my car’s coolant flushed beforehand… hind sight is 20/20

Now, Ken and I had all day to debate this but we’ve determined a top 5. IT’S THE GRAND RV GAME FINALE!!!! In 5th place, we have “Anal Torque”, followed by “Anal Fun Seeker” and “Anal Tradition”. In second place we have “Presidential Anal”. And now, the one to be crowned champion… from the first day it’s “ANAL JAMBOREE GT!” Huzzah! -raucous cheering erupts everywhere-

As “funny” as the RV Game was, I won’t end with that. To close I want to thank my good friend Ken for joining me on this adventure. I was glad to someone so like-minded and amenable along for the ride and I appreciate his significant contribution to the success of this trip, including sharing the driving and navigating and looking up all the awesome places we went for dinner. And of course with the witty banter that makes these posts a joy to write. I
Made it!Made it!Made it!

Finished a great adventure!
look forward to hitting the road together again some time. Ken offers the following thoughts as well:

What do I say to wrap up an epic 11 day journey? I write this as we finish, no, storm the last 100km to Calgary (Tyler is driving). I'm not really sure there is much to say. We have compiled the trip lists, vital statistics and facts. An overall RV Game winner has been assigned (today's was probably Anal Splash). Tyler has done an excellent and hilarious job (with help) of documenting our progress. I could not have done a better job (nor would have the patience). What I will reflect on is the immense enjoyment of the experience. I was expecting the trip to be exciting, fun, and interesting, but also full of moments of boredom (looking at you Wyoming and South Idaho). But the entire experience as amazing, even the challenging and boring bits. Apparently Tyler and I can keep ourselves entertained and in high spirits for 11 days of nearly 24/7 contact. There is also something to be said for becoming comfortable in each other's silence. It's a great point in a friendship, or really any relationship, where an extended silence isn't awkward, but just a lull in conversation as people arrange their thoughts and choose their words.

I have come back relaxed, re-invigorated, ready for a night in my old bed (and then back to site), and full of memories. Simply put, I could, would, and will go out on the road again. It was that awesome. Many thanks to my co-pilot and co-organizer Tyler (he did most of the work).

Thank you all for reading these posts. I hope they amused and entertained you as I certainly enjoyed writing them. Until next time!

“It’s 106 miles to Chicago. We’ve got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark, and we’re wearing sunglasses… HIT IT!” – Jake and Elwood Blues, The Blues Brothers (1980)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb