Tahiti - Sharks heaven!!


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia
October 9th 2006
Published: October 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok, I am now in Franch Polynesia, this is again 1000km east of Raratonga in a cluster of islands which includes Bora Bora! I flew into Tahiti from Raratonga landing at 2 am so no chance to do much on my first night. Booked into a hostel at the airport. I literally have never sweated soo much in my life during the night, even during mamoth sessions, solo and as couple!! It was a stink pit with cockroaches and orrible stuff but I hadn't slept in ages so made the most of it!

Woke up nice and early the next day, a stone lighter and my skin cleansed and moisturised from the sweat. I heard that Tahiti was a bit of a dive, dont be folled by those white sand beaches postcards and coral reef photos you associate with Tahiti, they are all taken from the Islands of Bora Bora and Moorea. Tahiti is a little like a small Scale France. The people are rude and smelly, everything is more expensive than Engalnd and they dont have 1/4 pounders with cheese in Mcdonalds (Royal with cheese, no way)!! So anyway, I digress! I jumped on the 9am ferry and headed for Moorea. No regrets coming here, it was picture perfect! I had a tip off about a hostel on the east coast and I was not dissapointed, even met up with 4 friends from Raratonga for a few days which was great!

Apart from sitting by the sea, snorkeling and the usual beach activities, I even rented a bike and rode 12 km to the nearest shop to buy some water etc, hostel was 4 times the price, trust me, bought 4 bottles only to have 3 of the bottles break the plastic bag and roll into the sea, 1 bottle left but 100 yards down the road, the makeshift bag snapped again and in a ditch that went. With my fear of snakes, I was never going down after it! I was thirsty all week.

Then on Tuesday I had one of the best days ever, I went swimming with Sharks and sting rays! Moorea is famous for shark feeding and swimming so I thought why not. It was bloody scary i kid you not. At the shark feeding area there were probably 10 - 5 foot black tipped reef sharks. I had one shark put his
Sting RaysSting RaysSting Rays

Man I'm brave!!
mouth 12 inches from my mask. I liteally was just about to move my hands towards him and Jackie Chan his ass, but in a kick of a tail he was off! I think the water was too warm around me for him!

Last night in Tahiti, last night in fact! Idiot that I am i booked into the same hostel for the night as the first night. Left at 4am, couldn't stand it any longer! On to Auckland for a few days!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Beach for lunchBeach for lunch
Beach for lunch

Free bar!!!


19th October 2006

very lucky.. wanna go there too. someday!
22nd October 2006

serious!!!
OH MY GOD BABE.. Those photos are amazing. gutted i didn't come now big time. xxxxxx

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb