Raratonga in the Cook Islands


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
October 3rd 2006
Published: October 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Beach from hostel!!Beach from hostel!!Beach from hostel!!

Fookin nice!!
For anyone that doesn't know, Raratonga is the main island of a group of Islands called the Cook Islands, 4 hours to the East of Fiji. A beatiful little island with only 18,000 inhabitants and you can cycle round in a couple of hours. I arrived at the airport drunk from my flight, something about free booze that makes me wanna keep going and going, not knowing where on earth I was heading. Got myself to a really nice little hostel actually, right on the beach, clean rooms etc for about 9 pounds a night. I'm even on the best bay on the island, will attach some photos when I can find the USB port. First day was pretty cold so I just kinda chilled chatting to people which was nice! Hostels are fine but when you are a paranoid shitter like myself, knowing that 10 people can hear your every strain is a little hard to get used to! Yesterday I rented some snorkels and went out to the reef, saw some amazing fish, all the colours, sea cucumbers and other things which I have no idea what they were. Then I totally shit myself when I was in a
Fit scottish birds!!Fit scottish birds!!Fit scottish birds!!

Sadly with fellas there!!
reef which was like 2 feet deep and a 6 foot long moorea eel zoomed past me. They can smell fear you know, well I must have reaked!! We also rented a car and went all over the island, into the mountains and found a really lovely waterfall and natural spring pool, very picturesque, almost romantic had it not been for the 5 ten year old local boys getting pissed up on Uzo and Tequilla!

Last night was backpacker party night, went to a really cool bar right next to the airport, everyone was having a great time and then it closed a midnight. Couldn't believe so early, I still had drinking left in me, I certainly had some dancing left to do! Then we realsied that the plane from Fiji was arriving in the airport (this airport has 10 arrivals a week, very small!) so we drove to the end of the runway, climbed on a wall and watched this huge plane come over the sea and almost touch our heads, was a real Waynes World moment!

Oh yeah and did I mention that the lady that runs the hostel is Miss Polynesia, 28 years old and stunning!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



7th October 2006

Typical Stilwell
Good to see that despite being able to cycle round the island in a few hours you still rented a car to do it
7th October 2006

so jealous
oh my god you are loving it aint ya... not being funny but i am definately comeing out there next year, just dont spend all you money and come home before i get there ok. we need to party big time when i get there. ok?

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0973s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb