Tahiti part1


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Moorea
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Right no entry about Wellington definitely when I can but I am going to Perth tonight and my friend Katy (aka SWINGER) wanted me to put some pictures from my trip to Tahiti so here are some pictures and the first entry about Tahiti.

After spending one night on the bus from Wellington to Auckland where I barely slept (gosh babies should be banned from buses and planes!) a few hours in Auckland Airport and 5hours by plane I landed in Papeete, Tahiti at 9pm and welcomed by my mum and my old sister. Was tired from the last night and I knew I was going to have another tough one as we had to stay at the lovely airport of Papeete for the whole night. Unfortunately I only saw my old sister for a couple of hours as she had to take a flight to La, back to work for her. So I spend the whole night with my mum in this airport and what a crap one, not sure if everyone know but the plane ticket from France to Papeete is very expensive so you expect to get to a nice airport not asking a brand new airport as the one in Kuala Lumpur but at least something good. I'd like to compare this airport to one you will land if you get a flight to a shithole in Russia. Not sure why I'm obsesses by this airport but in France when you say Tahiti you think about pretty girls of course and welcoming places nice beaches as well so got surprised by the airport especially as Tahitians rely a lot on tourists. Unfortunately as I discovered during my stay well they don't give a shit about tourists, they just want their money!!

After many coffees and a chat with a guy who wanted to raise cows in the Maldives Island (what I'm saying is true ask my mum she was there when I chatted with him) and as well as two attacks (an old guy probably a homeless one had a thing with one of my plastic bags which was yellow and tried to steal it twice but he was harmless and at least that gave us some entertainment during the night) we finally got to the small port and go to the ferry to Moorea.

Geography lessons for those ones who don't know about Tahiti, Tahiti is basically the main island whose main (and only) city is Papeete then 30minutes by ferry away is Moorea when my parents live.
Moorea is a very small island of 70km the speed limit is 60kph, the surprising thing was to see many brand new cars and people showing them off and I'd like to ask them: what's the point in having this type of car on this island????

Glad to be with my parents chatted about anything but I was so tired I was in bed at 7pm and didn't even go to the beach on my first day but discovered mosquitos still love me, they were even worse than in Victoria.

Here is the end of my first entry about Tahiti, will add more pictures and more news of my adventures over there in a next entry which I hope I will add very soon.

Miss you guys

Amelie



Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DSC06614DSC06614
DSC06614

view from my parent's house
Arthur the CatArthur the Cat
Arthur the Cat

the neighbour's cat who was always with us, if all cats were like him I would love them!


15th May 2008

wow et pas wow
J'avoue que les photos sont superbes et que ça a l'air super beau, genre à voir une fois dans sa vie. Mais en lisant ton post et aussi en me rappelant de ce que tu m'as dit sur Tahiti, c'est assez décevant. C'est dommage ça pourrait être super bien. Et puis obn y a des moustiques et moi la bas les moustiques je peux pas , même pas la bas mais en général, ces choses m'ont toujours pourris la vie !!!! sur ce bisous :B

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb