Why did I do this


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
November 19th 2014
Published: November 22nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

So we went out at this hostel on the night with the same people again. Laura had to make some calls about work to sort out what she was going to do. Gemma wanted to know a bit more about me and my ways such as my eating habits and with people due to wine I ended up going through my past about my eating disorder and past family issues. It was better to talk about it but that's stuff I keep to myself and don't go into felt weird to open up about it.
Now we are wayalailai Island. It is officially hell... Kill me now or make me a raft to get off of this island.
The morning was rocky as Laura wasn't herself she sniped at everything I said all morning in the end I shut down and kept out her way. Later on the ferry she brought me a coffee over took it as a peace offering and we got along better.
Met a girl on the coach to the ferry called Anja really interesting girl had a really crazy life and was so nice to everyone have to say not met someone like her before.
The islands we passed were beautiful initially we wanted to go to bearfoot but it was fully booked so we were offered wayalailai which we took. So we got off this ferry into a smaller boat and sailed to the island there the staff greeted us by singing and a warm welcome great start we thought.
They took us all to reception now unlike Nadi immediately you were swarmed by bugs, they had our names wrong and when you book instead of stars it's coconut rating we were a minimum of 2 coconuts.
So they send us to this room where they say we have to split up. We didn't want to do that and it was an 8 bed dorm when we lid for a 4 bed. So they moved us into a 4 bed. It was disgusting they beds were filthy the floor was. The bathroom there are no words!
We let it go and went down to the beach. Now we said what we wanted beachwise before as we just wanted to relax while here. Now this was not what we wanted it had rocks everywhere underneath the water. Scenery was beautiful so many good features mini coral reefers where fish swam white sand beach. But the amount of rocks you couldn't even get fully into the sea!
So we start sunbathing now I am typically english... I don't tan I burn! Also my bag had a lotion explosion so all my stuff is now covered in after sun.
We went for lunch where it was rice and asian food. Now due to food phobias which is more difficult than it sounds to get over I wouldn't touch it. Completely my fault my problem but it means I'm not eating which is not good for me to do. This island has no wifi! Oh and no ice cream... Or wine!
So after going back to the beach we are moaning between us when I say moan we joke moan we felt like we are on castaway.
So after a bit managed to swim in sea when ride came in. I went back to the room now I am burnt all over and bright red.
The showers are cold and we have no electricity or air conditioning brilliant. Tonight is going to be horrible with the insects.
So overall my bag is ruined, I'm burnt, hungry, no wifi and typing this on notes on my phone, which I can't charge. And can't even drink the pain away. I look like a bloody beetroot this is the worst place I have stayed so far. We are leaving tomorrow and researching islands thoroughly from now on worse mistake ever!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb