The rest of the cruise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 8th 2017
Published: January 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

As mentioned in the first blog the first 4 days involved sea time. We spent a lot of time reading, watching the water and the fascinating cloud formations. In addition to the Oasis we discovered a coffee shop/bar "The Dome" where we spent a lot of time reading. It became a favourite space and has the most comfortable couches for sleeping.

Each evening we would wait with baited breath to see whether we would get a chocolate or an animal made out of towels in our room. We worked out fairly quickly they alternated, one day chocolate the next an animal. These animals are works of art, in fact towards the very end of the cruise we went to an event where the various Room Stewards came out with animals they had made and they were all placed onto a display on stage. Supposedly it was for children but 80% of the audience were adult. It was a very good event and showed the range of nationalities and the huge range of time they had worked for P&O from 2 - 20 years in fact. Christopher and Romel made Teddy Bears and they were very cute.

Our first port of call was Port Vila. Yes there we were hanging over the side watching the whole docking process and those marvellous little tugs. As we docked a marine ferry was heading in as well, I can only marvel how where ever you are in the world the ferry's all look the same, old, rusty and past their use by date. The other thing we noticed was how in your face the markets were, right there on the actual dock, very neat and tidy as well. We had pre-booked a city tour and headed off in a big bus to see the sights. Immediately I became aware of just how much the catholic religion is entrenched in this region. I tuned out big time and focused on views and native carvings. We visited a private garden and art studio which also had a lot of historical artefacts. It was right on a prime piece of beach front and very nice. Everywhere we went the vegetation was lush and the flowers amazing. We went to a village where we were treated to dancing etc but the best bit was a little lad in a pair of huge blue shorts who danced along with the people in costume. He was not going to miss out. Next we headed off to the museum where we were treated to a demonstration of sandroing (sand drawing) which is the method of written communication and cultural expression. It was amazing. a single unbroken line drawn in sand whilst telling a tale. The gentle man who did the demonstration exuded an aura of peace and calmness which was enviable. He also demonstrated two musical instruments made from bamboo playing both their national anthems and the Australian one as well.

After the tour we were dropped in the centre of the town and wandered about checking out the duty free shopping, less than impressive. We lunched at Jill's cafe and I ordered nachos and could only manage a quarter of it. I became aware of the number of French people who holiday in the region because of course this place was a colony of theirs. French is still the main language. We checked out the produce markets before getting into a mini bus and being taken back to the dock. We were dropped off at the market and discovered to get through to the ship you had to walk past every stall the whole thing had been set up to force you too. We bought nothing other than trinkets at the village and our lunch!

That evening we attended a show where Fouard Travis sang "swing". I really enjoyed that music.

Next day the ship docked at Mare. We chose to stay on board and do some washing. Interesting play the laundry we met some fascinating people. I was chatting away with a little rotund fellow and eventually discovered be was a retired catholic priest. I asked if he was on holiday, but no he was working for P&O. He does Easter, Anzac Day and Christmas for them every year. He gets to cruise about and does a couple of masses and ceremonies and gets paid as well. He was accompanied by a fellow we had sighted on deck 14 exercising (we reckon he was the fittest bloke on board) and I discovered he too as a Priest from Fiji!

That evening we sat a while in one of the lounges and listened to some music whilst imbibing a little. The white party was commencing and we just were not interested in partying. I headed off to the duty free and treated myself to a "whore house red" handbag.

Next morning we were up for an early breakfast as we had an early tour on the Isle of Pines. Of course we were on deck this time to watch the tenders being deployed to ferry us to shore. Once on shore we adeptly avoided the inevitable photographers, got our leis and headed to our tour bus. What a beautiful place this is, by far the most spectacular. Once more religion was the main focus but to me the carvings and interesting use of coral as a base for memorials was the most interesting. The views were amazing. It was not good to see the devastation caused by the cyclone a year ago. At the end of our tour we tasted the national dish Bouya(?) meat and vegetables with coconut wrapped in leaves and baked rather like a hangi. It was really tasty. This place was about relaxing, swimming and walking on the beach. There were only a few stalls selling things and we weren't interested. This would be a place to live but no health system is a big issue. Once more we went back to the ship early and had a nanna nap. I did a lot of that. I also visited the lolly shop which was disastrous. That evening I crashed and went to bed really early and Mieke took herself off to the show alone.

The next day we moored at Mystery Island, so named because Mrs Queen was photographed swimming there long, long times ago and no one knew the name of the island so it became Mystery Island. It is uninhabited and residents of a nearby island come over when ships arrive. Tiny it is nevertheless beautiful. Here we went on a glass bottom board cruise. Very few of my photos worked but it was sad to see the damage cause by the cyclone. The Brain coral was huge and so impressive. It was not as colourful as I expected but there were lots of colourful fish. Learned another interesting fact. How to find out if a fish is edible. Cut a bit off and give it to the ants. If they shun it, it is poisonous! I really don't think I would want to try that. This was a beautiful pristine island and very picturesque.

It was Christmas Eve and Father Christmas arrived via tender with two elves assisting him. He was there to visit with the crew on Christmas eve and the children on Christmas day. Needless to say we were there checking it out and gave up our spot at the rail to a little lad and his mother.

That evening we headed off to Luna for the fine dining thing again, this time a Japanese banquet. Incredible. It changed my perception of Miso soup. We had to walk after dinner again...

Christmas morning and early breakfast again as we had a tour of Noumea booked. We were on deck at the right time and watched a 25 minute song and dange greeting ceremony happening on the wharf. First hiccup. The whole tour thing was chaos. Christmas Day, lack of buses and very little communication. Eventually we managed to get onto our bus and with a very nervous first time tour guide headed off. This tour emphasised the influence of the two world wars. I am confused because I was unaware of the pacific involvement in WW1 and still haven't checked that out. I think there were 100,000 troops stationed in Noumea and there was no action at all. Nice job if you can get it. The hospital which the US built is still in use as is much of the infrastructure. This was my least favourite place. Whilst the scenery is beautiful it just seemed too developed and not so much paradise.

At all the places we visited the flowers and vegetation was spectacular and I recognised so many of the various plants though I can't put a name to most of them.

We were back on board before lunch. Had a light meal because we were booked in for dinner at the waterfront. I did not have the traditional meal but had my first taste of beef cheeks. Very good but too much and too rich. At our table were two first time cruisers from Wagga Wagga. Fascinating pair. Talking about growing strawberries and making preserves and christmas pudding. Never judge a book by it's cover, they didn't look the type.

We were now heading back to Melbourne, so three days solid cruising, our favourite time. Coffee and sleeping in Dome. Cocktails and sleeping at the Oasis. One day in Dome we got roped in to a paper flower making workshop. My god what a mess I made. We had enjoyed the High Tea so much we went again and also did the fine dining thing at Luke Mangan's Salt Grill for lunch. My seared scallops with shitake mushrooms, asian greens, lime and truffle oil was spectacular, barramundi was delicious but far too much and the liqourice parfait sublime. This was the expensive meal $49 for three courses. It would cost you that much for one course at his restuarants on the mainland.

Our luggage was collected the night before we docked and I discovered that I couldn't get one of my locks to work after it had been applied to the case. The docking process was quick, efficient and friendly. I was packing death in case I had to go through customs, however I was waved straight through. We managed to get a taxi another well organised process and off to the hotel again. We dropped our luggage and headed down to go into Myer in the main CBD. As we reached the door the heavens opened and within minutes the streets were flooded. Forget that idea - we headed for the bar instead. Discussion centred on "next time" we will come earlier or stay later so we can get to go into the city.

We dined in our room and got a taxi to the airport where Mieke had the first flight. I saw her off and headed to my terminal. I made the fatal mistake of checking out the luggage on my way past. I NEED a new matched set. All my really good luggage now cannot be used because it is too big for the new standards. On to my plane and Sheryl was waiting for me at the airport. Home at last and the cat seemed pleased to see me. The first thing I did was try the extra set of keys on the lock and it opened it immediately. Bummer I was hoping I would have to damage the case to open it so the new luggage could be a reality.

Fray stuck to me like glue so I headed off to bed really early and she kept waking me up all night marking me and climbing all over me. I think she missed me.

I deliberately went without phone and internet for the whole time I was away. The service on board was patchy and over burdened. It was a good thing to be without the technology for a while.

No idea when I will go away again, but I do know I enjoyed this form of travel and feel I could do it by myself if I chose too.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 30


Advertisement



Tot: 1.03s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 9; qc: 28; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb