A long catch up


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
June 15th 2009
Published: March 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So...
This is going to be a long one folks...
Bangkok... Mama and Papa
After my first sad tears for a while, i began my 17hour journey back to Bangkok...
With the excitement of seeing my mama, papa and of course Alfie (My pink fluffy teddy bear) most of the journey pasted in a sleepy daze.
As the door opened and i saw my Dad happiness overwellemed me... Although it had only been 3months, it felt like forever and it was so comforting to cuddle him.
During our time in Bangkok Mama, Papa and I did a little site seeing and shopping!
We went to see the Kings Palace, such a beautiful building surrounded by spectacular Temples. One of these temples holds The Emerald Buddha when entering this temple i felt so peaceful and complete, as i sat in awe of this amazing creation, my mind began to clear and my whole body lapsed into a state of meditation.

Koh Chang... Mama and Papa

Koh Chang is a beautiful Island just off the East coast of Thailand just under Cambodia... I took us around 6 hours to reach our hotel and unfortunatly we got caught in a rain strom while driving over the Island... Everything was soaked!!!
Our poolside Villa with views over the speldid Sea was divine!!! hehehe!
I have to admite that it did feel really weird having a hot shower and toilet paper again... lol
We began to explore the small local town a few shops and restaurants lined the road and a 5min walked took you to a paradise beach.
It was so nice to bring my parents here, when they asked if i'd like them to met me anywhere i knew Thailand was the best place and it was conveniently placed during the Easter holidays.
I'd be going alone having only spend a few days in Thailand traveling with Suzanna my companion from India and it was strange to almost be a child again. Strange but nice, i mean it was lovely to be able to have real conversations and have some family time.
During my parents stay i arranged for me and my dad to go to Angkor Watt, Angkor Watt is an anient city in Cambodia, it was abandoned hundreds of years ago and only found again in 1860 by the French explorer Henri Mouhot.
The history that lies within this ancent city is huge. Being one of the 7 wonder of the world i knew that it would be somewhere my father would love to visit.
We went on a trip to Cambodia to visit this enchanting place
The day spent at Angkor Watt was one of the most amazing of my whole trip, Apon the walls old tales were chisled in. The place has been almost completly unresored. It was very interesting to learn was that during the Khmer Rouge the place was pillaged (The people in power, cut the heads of buddhas stole all the gold plating and anything of value!) Its very dissapointing but i suppose its the way of the world. Its sad how people can influants and change the world.
It was amazing to share this experiance with my daddy and i am so happy that we got to do it together.
AS the weeks drew to a close it was time again to say goodbye to my parents and begin to plan the next step.

Lush Loas
A friend i'd met on the beach Davie was going to be in Bangkok when i arrived to drop my parents off. I told him of my plans to go to Loas and he informed me that three girls that he'd been travelling with were going to Loas and i was welcome to join them :D It was great news as i had a friend already in Loas that i wanted to met up with, but him being a week ahead of me met that i was probaly going to unable to travel of with him.
I was a little worried as i hadn't met these girls before and during my trip i'd mostly be hanging out with guys as i find they are easyer to get on with.
When i arrived in Bangkok Davie suprised me. He changed his flight so that he could come with me to Loas :D It was so lovely and i met the girls Sarah from Canada, Kerry-Ann from USA and Fiona from USA. WAlking into the hotel room where they were all packing was very overwelleming! Wasn't really sure how i was going to travel with these very chummy girls.
The train ride to Loas was nice just me and Davie we drank Chang and then went to bed, its weird but i prefered the trains in India, i don't know why but i felt very uneasy and didn't sleep very well that night.
Once we'd crossed the bored and boreded a bus to the capital of Loas we had been traveling for around 14hours, as i said i didn't get much sleep and i was sweating so much it was horrible, we dicied to make the trip all the way to Vang Vieng that day insteed of staying for a night in the capital. I just wanted to get it all over and done with in one day and also really wanted to see Matt the boy who i knew was aready there and i spent some time with on the beach.
That night as we checked into a hotel room all i wanted to do was sleep, but true to form i had to check out this new country and find this boy.
I had a tradional Loas salad for dinner which i really enjoyed and then began to drink the local beer which was so weak compared to thailands local beer Chang!!
The bar began to liven up and the music started to pulse though my body, soon i had managed to persuade 3 other people to dance with me. :D
Suddenly i felt an arm around my body and a kiss on my neck... It was Matt!!! :D
He told me that when he had walked in he had waited a little while with some people he had met to see if i would notice him and was watching me dance, then he relised that i was in the groove and wouldn't spot him so he came over for a boogy.
I haven't seen him for a little over two weeks but as soon as we began to talk and dance again it felt as though i'd known him forever and we'd never been apart.
I spent the rest of the night drinking, chatting and DANCING!!
The next day the girls arrived and i was suprise how quickly we fell into being really close.
They are truly wonderful people, i am so happy to have met all of them, they have helped me though so bad times and partyed with me though the good, its been fantastic and i will never forget
Matt
Kerry-Ann
Davie
Fiona
Sarah!
Vang Vieng is a town in Laos known for tubing. There is a lake that runs though Loas and about a mile of it has bars running down ethir side with rope swings and crazy slide, for this reason Vang Vieng is very club 18-30 which made me not like it at all. Laos only opened its doors to touriusim in 2006 so it is a very new country to explore, many people die every week at the river because they drink too much or take tomany drugs and don't fall at the right point of the swing causing them to land on rocks. I also was informed that they is no English consalute in Laos so it is the worest place in Aisa to be arrested.
For the duration of my time in Vang Vieng i went out and danced again the second night spent the whole next day recovering with Matt had a massage and watch friends then on ur last day Davie, Fiona, Kerry-Ann, Sarah and I went on a trip. In the morning we went tubing in these caves, it was very scary and i was worried about what might be inside as all we had was a head touch each. We then kayaked for 7miles down the river which ws so beautiful and an amazing experiance. When i was younger i used to go a boat club in London, when i get home i difanatily want to get back into it. I really loved kayaking and it was great excercise.
We took a 7hour mini bus to Luang Prabang, such a beautiful little town, was my favorite place in Laos. The mini bus ride was deadly though, with all of us feeling like we were going to died numerous times, speeding around, over taking on courners and genrally not taking much care it was terrifying we were all pleased to make it alive to be honest.
Luang Prabang has a beautiful night market every night, an amazing temple and theare and a wonderful waterfall.
We spent a day at the waterfall and i climbed right to the very top it was sometimes a little scary and i wasn't feeling very well so it was a hard clime. As me and Fiona headed off the track to explore some high pools we had to clime a mini waterfall. Unfortunately, i grabbed on to a piece of rock that wasn't attached and dropped causing me to fall 7feet :o!!!! I fall quickly and was almost unaware of what was happening, i was caught by a man standing on the very thin path at the bottom... I shook for about a day, i was terrorifed but i'd got that far and i wasn't giving up so after a five minute cool down i did it again and this time i didn't fall YAY!!
It was so worth it at the top absolutely out of this world.
My next big adventure was a boat trip from Luang Prabang to Hat Yai a town just across the river border to Thailand.
The day we set off on this adventure, Davie flew back to Bangkok to catch his flight to India.
Silly us hadn't taken money out from the bank that day so, when we arrived that night in Pak Beng a strange little town on the river we were very upset to see that there was no cash point meaning that all together we had 60,000Kip it costs 40,000kip for a double room so that night after a horrible dinner which made us all sick. Sarah, Kerry-Ann, Fiona and I shared a box room one double bed no fan or light after 7pm as the electrality went in the whole town and a horrid scary toilet. As you can probaly guess that night only one of us got any sleep little Kerry-Ann who curled up in a ball at the end of the bed.
Every few mintues one of the three of us awake would say something usally to carm everyones nerves, being in a isolated town it wasn't hard to think the worest and as soon as the film hostel came into our minds we knew it would be a long scary night!
An ealry rise at 6am, quick cold dark shower and a rumbelling belly... No money for breakfast we spent our last bits on a few snacks for the day boat ride.
We were meant to arrive in Laos at 5pm, which would have enabled us to cross the border into Thailand that evening.
By this time, after 9days in Laos i was really missing all the things i'd come to know and love in Thailand, i felt like i was on a horrid holiday for paradise, all very stressed hungry and tired, little did we know that things were only going to get worest. The boat was an hour late, which meant one more night in Laos... Luckly the border town had a cashpoint and we found the most friendly hostel ever!!
That night we went for an Indian, it was delishous!!!
Unfortunatly after dinner we dicied we had enough money to use the internet, i then did the wrong thing a check my ex boyfriends facebook and recived a rather blarsa email from him. All the stress and tiredness got to me and bam...!!! Traveling Panic attack number 2!!
The girls handled it really well and i'm so happy that i was with them.
However my friends over the border didn't and that is how i lost two friends. The whole time i was in Laos i had no signal, one of my bestfriends had just arrived in Thailand and after my planned trip to Loas i wanted to met up with her a travel the northern tip of the country. Not be able to text her and only going on the internet once meant that the last place i knew she was, was Chang Mai i tired everything i could to fly there from Luang Prabang to get there before she left but unfortunatly the flights were just too expensive.
Fanily getting signal in this tiny border town made me able to call them at dinner and find out that they had already left to the Island 😞 When i sent a text, a plea of support, it was ignored and i lost them.
The funniest part of my boat jounry was the crossing from Laos to Thailand, after being stamped out of Laos 6 of us and our 25kg bags got into a tiny little cannoe to the other side, scary but great fun!

Love you
Last bits of Aisa to come shortly
xxxxxx



Hat Yai
Pak Beng

Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb