Ozzy Land


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 10th 2014
Published: March 10th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After touring around NewZealand for over a month the next stop is Australia!

After a short 4 hour plane ride from Aukland I landed in Sydney - the capital of New South Wales, Australia! Air New Zealand is my all-time favorite airline. They always have free meals and snacks (denpending on how long your flight is 1-3 meals) and free alcoholic drinks! The safety video shown at the begging of the flight is Richord Simmons dancing around explaining the safety percausions for the flight, which is pretty entertaining.

https://www.facebook.com/#!/cody.mcclelland.90/media_set?set=a.10150951694651928.464979.594426927&type=3

The 3 day surf lessons were just as I hoped, I stood up on the board my first try, and after a few hours I seemed like a natural (this was on a huge learner board).

The two main bars in Byron were Coco mangos and Cheeky Monkeys, which was where I spent most of my time during the evenings. One day we took a bus call the "magic bus" to a little town just outside of Byron to a place called Nimbin. Nimbin is famous for being a marijuana friendly as well as sort of a museum for it. It has a huge sort of hippie vibe and there is smoke shopes, weed museums, and coffee shops selling the stuff everywhere, and for some reason there is no police.. I dont smoke myself but it was really interesting to see.

I stayed in Byron for around 2 weeks because I loved it so much. My next stop will be up to Hervey Bay where I have a tour booked to spend a few nights on Fraser Island. So far Australia has exceeded my expectations and I cannot wait for the rest!



To be continued......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.219s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb