Planning a Trip to New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand
February 2nd 2014
Published: February 2nd 2014
Edit Blog Post

With School coming to an end this April, I've decided to save some money and get away for a few months on a backpacking trip accross New Zealand.

<a></a>

I plan to go away for 2-3 months making my way across New Zealand and possibly stopping in either Fiji or Cook Islands. From what I hear and pictures I've seen: New Zealand looks alot like British Columbia, if not better. Since I plan on leaving in May, I will be there during the winter months, as their seasons are opposit as it is here in Canada. This isn't so bad since I love to snowboard, and I'm used to much colder weather in Canada.

<a></a>I'll be fitting everything I need into one backpack so I will have to decide on bringing only what is needed. I have some things listed that I need to bring such as; Tent, Basic First Aid kit (band aids, polysporin, bug repellent, bennadryll, tylonal, sunscreen, alovera, Ect..), Ipod, Swiss army knife, Can opener, Sun glasses, Towel, Sandels, Casual shoes, Hiking shoes, Back-up emergency credit card, Photo copies of documentaiton such as Health care cards, ID's (passport), Epi Pen, and as many clothes that I can fit. New Zealand is known for their adventure toursim, which is the main reason I want to go. There is everything from Hiking Volcanoes, Skydiving, Bungee Jumping, Speed Boats, Hang Gliding, Camping, Surfing, and many other exciting things to do. I've looked at the Nevis Bungee in QueensTown and it looks nuts! Definitely on my list as a "must do" while i'm their.

I made up a mock itinerary as to where I would like to go: Fly into Aukland (coming from either Fiji or Cook Islands), Paihia (Bay of Islands), Hot water Beach (where you can dig a hole in the beach and it creates a natural hot tub!, Waitomo, Rotorua (known for it's crazy activities), Lake Taupo, Wellington, then heading to the South Island; Franz Josef, Wanaka, Milford Sound and ending in Queenstown (I've heard good things).

There's so many places to go and so many things I'd like to do, hoping I'll have enough time and money for everything. After looking at all the places I'd like to go (not including other spontanious trips that might happen along the way), I definitely need at least 2 months.

A friend of mine from school is planning on coming with me. We don't plan on booking anything except flights and maybe accomodation for the first couple nights. Besides that everything will be left untill we get their, leaving some freedom to change plans along the way. The trip is still a few months away and i'm sure some plans and ideas may change before I leave.

That's all the planning I have done so far, can't wait to leave! I'll keep my blog updated weekly during my travels.

Cody McClelland

Advertisement



Tot: 0.382s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb