cairns-skydive


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 4th 2014
Published: March 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today for some strange reason.we booked a 14,000ft skydive. We were due to be picked up at 10:45am. Darren took the car back to the rental place and i got ready, he came back with Mcdonalds which i didnt think id.be able to stomach but glad i did.

The bus hadnt arrived be.eleven.which.was making me nervous. It finally arrived half an hour late. Then to add to my nerves we were given forms to sign which.on every piece had skydiving is dangerous....you may die! However i still signed these forms...

crazy.

We arrived at half oneish and were going up in eights. The weather kept changing sunshine, rain, wind, all seasons in one day. One plane went up three times before jumping. The.wait seemed like forever my nerves had gone.coz.i forgot what i.was.waiting for. Darren was quietly nervous but he will say he wasnt.

Finally my name was called and.my nerves kicked in striaghtaway. My instructor was called Tim. He was cool and really calming but kept joking around which is probably what i needed. He put my harness on which was very friendly and then prepared the parachute. I got to wear some lovely pants to stop chafing. Darren was also getting prepared as we were on the same plane, his instructor was called tats.

We had paid for photos as needed proof i.had actually done it. The guys were really good as they took pics of both me and darren before we boarded and whilst on plane. At this point i was really nervous as the plane went up the view was amazing. I.kept thinking is this 14,000 ft.....but it wasnt. We went through about two layers of cloud and there was a rainbow. We were told.when.red light appears its three mins, when amber came on the jump was 1 minute away. At this time we had to put our googles on. Then the green light appeared and door flew open. A girl went first, then Darren at that point i thought i cant do this but Tim.didnt listen as we were third. I was literally hung out the plane like a banana as i.was.told to.do.At.this point im not sure if i had my eyes closed not. I just remember white and blue and thinking oh my god. Then we had jumped the first bit was bit of a blur as we freefalled for a minute. I remember my stomach feeling funny and then i was tapped on the shoulder so i could open my arms. At this point i started enjoying it. I concentrated on.my breathing and realised what id actually done. The parachute was then opened and we flew back up. I was then able to remove my googles and the view became so clear, so green. The skydive lasted about six minutes and before we landed Tim let my fly the parachute so i held the right handle and pulled it down amd we swung round then i let my arm.back up and we were straight. I could see the landing ground and saw darren had landed safely so i gave him a wave. We then flew into the landing ground and it was over...i had actually skydived.Tim said i did a good job (i no he says that to everyone but i believed i did). My legs were like jelly as we landed. Darren really enjoyed it. I was amazed i had done it not.sure id do it.again but i can tick it off my list.

We had to wait for one.more.plane to.go.up and land then it was home time. On the bus we were given our usb of photo's and a certificate.

We arrived back in hotel at seven. The adrenaline had.gone and we were starving. We went to the.night market and had chinese buffet then went.back as we have be up early tomorrow for.flight to Hamilton Island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb