Getting back on the road!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
January 25th 2010
Published: January 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

from arthur's seatfrom arthur's seatfrom arthur's seat

Just in our backyard in Edinburgh park and view looking back to city center!!!
I guess somewhere over the past 2 years I got lost in my travels as I stopped feeling like a tourist and immersed myself in everyday life in other countries working when neede and travelling every oppertunity I could.
I've decided, as i start the last chapter of this journey to promise to keep in better touch and to share with everyone what I'mlooking forward to experiencing.
A quick catch up summery of where I'm starting this stage and how I got here might be in order to paint a better picture....
I spent the last of my UK work visa living in Scottlands beautiful capital city, Edinburgh! Got a quiet little admin job in hopes of saving money....Was involved in a community softball team, and what a fabulous team it was...really made me feel like part of a family! Lived in a 4 bedroom flat with 9 wonderful friends and of course enjoyed the location of beeing so close to Europe that a few weekend trips couldn't be missed. Scottland welcomed me in and I was sad to go.....

After a week tasting life as a Hollywood star...yup had an LA stopover which was interresting and great to gather
cape reingacape reingacape reinga

At the northern tip of NZ where you see the tazman and the pacific oceans meet!
myself and get ready for my New Zealand destination!

Arriving in New Zealand in time for summer season I knew Bay of Island would be the place for me and man was i right! Couldn't have landed on my feet in a better location...spent my summer working in a chilled out hostel accross the road from the bar/cafe that i also worked in!! A fantastic mix of local and travellers would meet here, it was the perfect balance in a beautifull community. Kayaking, learning to sail, swimming with dolphins or laying on the beach, Paihia is the gateway to unspoilt Northland.

I managed to buy a car to travel with 2 great friends I made here. After 6 months working and a two week holiday in Oz we hit the road to discover once again NZ! Just as spectacular as I remember the landscape activities and people to be!! hiking volcanoes, camping along the coastline, caving and glacier walking, indulging in fine wines, we didn't a beat. Our timing was superb to arrive in the south island ski resort town of wanaka in order to land a job on the mountain and finally learning to snowboard! Who would
sailingsailingsailing

On the Lilly Bolero sail boat, chilling out at sea
know that elsewhere in the world winter only last 3 months and snow is only found on the top of the mountains. It was more than I had expected beeing part of the lifty crew, and I can't wait to go on a 2week holiday in the rockies!!

The end of season sadly arrived and the truth about saving on mountain wages is that you can't...So I returned to where it all started back in the Bay, after 3 months and juggling 4 jobs I am ready for my favorite job....TRAVEL!!!

A quick dable into Oz while I'm still down under catching up with some great friends, i'm now looking forward to catching up with my sister and her friends in Thailand and embracing the lifestyle and culture that lies ahead.

My commitment to you is to get back in the blogging, so please follow me through Asia on my last leg coming home xoxo


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

flipper?flipper?
flipper?

Dolphin watching in the bay of islands.....
CardronaCardrona
Cardrona

The beauty and peacefulness of working on the mountain before the morning rush!
boardingboarding
boarding

Enjoying the final ride of the season with Anna....we conquered the boarder cross!!!
catch of the day!catch of the day!
catch of the day!

fishing in Oz...don't think it'll be enough for dinner....


Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb