A Bit of Inspiration


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
July 31st 2008
Published: July 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was sent this poem by Kristy and thought I would share as I found it very inspirational and reasuring...

One day you finally knew what you had to do, and began, though the voices around you kept shouting their bad advice-
though the whole house began to tremble and you felt the old tug at your ankels. "Mend my life!" each voice cried.
But you didn't stop.
You knew what you had to do, though the wind pried with its stiff fingers at the very foundations, though their melancholy was terrible.
It was already late enough, and a wild night, and the road full of fallen branches and stones.
But little by little as you left their voices behind, the stars began to burn through the sheets of clouds, and there was a new voice which you slowly recognized as your own, that kept you company as you strode deeper and deeper into the world, determined to do the only thing you could do- determined to save the only life that you could save.
-Mary Oliver

I think we can all see why Kristy thought of me when she read this and I think everyone can identify with this poem whether on a small or large scale.

I will make this point though:
The voices that I heard shouting bad advice was always from myself and never from others in my life.
It has taken me a long time to shut up the negative thoughts long enough to hear my real thoughts.
Some how all of you have had unwavering faith that I would find my way in this life.
Knowing this makes everything I do easier and I know that I am lucky to have people like all of you in my life....I do realize not everyone has the same supports that I do.
So thank you, and thank you Kristy for giving me a moment to reflect and realize that I am on a fantastic journey.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0756s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb