Canberra


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
May 23rd 2003
Published: May 23rd 2003
Edit Blog Post

25 May 2002
I paid the accommodation and food bill then left Deniliquin just as the sun was starting to climb above the horizon. Thirty-three klms northeast of Deniliquin the town of Conargo was passed. I travelled east towards Jerilderie then Lockhart.
Although it was a back road I was still able to maintain a good speed until I came across a large heard of cattle. Some of the stock decided to cross the road so I had to stop. In fact they took so long to pass I decided to drive, very slowly through the their ranks, filming with the video camera as I went.
Eventually I arrived at the junction to the Hume Freeway and my speed climbed to the legal 110 klms per hour. Gundagai was used as a rest stop where I bought take-away.
When the Barton Highway was reached I turned towards Canberra. An hour or so later I arrived at the Sundowner Motel which had been pre-booked, the receptionist remembered me from a previous visit and handed me the key to the unit.
What was left of the afternoon was spent looking at shops in the city centre. Later that night I finished the day off by having a meal at the motel restaurant.

26 May 2002
I took advantage of my day off and went to the National Library where they had an exhibition about Burke & Wills. That kept me occupied for a few hours then drove back to the motel and made sure my equipment was ready for the job in the morning.

27 May 2002
The centre I was working in was close to the motel and it didn't take long to reach. By 11am I was leaving Canberra behind and heading back to Melbourne. It took eight hours driving before arriving in my driveway. I was glad to be home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.96s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 89; dbt: 0.0794s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb