Visiting Family.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

MechanicMechanicMechanic

In Hyden we saw a heap of statues made from bits and pieces. This is a mechanic working on a motor.
Wave Rock was fantastic, absolutely spectacular. It was so high and curled over like a really huge wave in the ocean. We all tried to climb up the wave as far as we could go with most of us sliding back down on our bottoms lol. The guys started competing who could run up and touch the highest spot they could lol. Not sure who ended up winning in the end. We then climbed up some stairs to the top of the wave, the rock was massive. We walked around seeing different things on top including large balancing boulders, a rock shaped like a lounge chair and a sandlewood tree. We then went down from the rock and followed a path to see hippo's yawn, which was a rock and cave that looked like a hippo yawning.
That night after tea we played a game of Risk with Peter, Sonia, Jamin and Mitchel. Actually 2 games because they go much quicker with 6 people playing. Peter won the first game and Mitchel won the second. It was a good last night with the Flemings.
The next morning we waved goodbye to the Flemings after Nathan had tied a pair of jocks
Surfing the waveSurfing the waveSurfing the wave

Nathan and I posing on the wave trying to look like surfers, I think I need to work on my technique lol.
underneath their van. (The reason for this is because in Albany when I was doing some washing in the laundry I saw a clean pair of boys jocks were sitting on the table. I picked them up thinking they were left behind by Sonia. That night I gave the jocks to the Flemings and they told me they were not theirs. So a game started where those jocks kept getting hidden on each families van's until being found again. We hid them in our car for quite awhile and then Nathan tied them under their van early in the morning before Flemings were awake. Nathan then told them over the UHF after they had left to "beware of the jocks", we haven't heard back yet as to if they found them.)
We headed towards Lake Camm which was an hour and a half south of Hyden. We had planned on visiting Nathan's uncle Bob and his wife who own wheat and sheep properties along the wheat belt in WA. When we rang a few days ago we found that Bob and his wife were in QLD holidaying lol, so we stayed with Brad and Vicki. Brad is Nathan's cousin and
A beautiful paintingA beautiful paintingA beautiful painting

This picture I took inside one of the ruined houses. The scene through the window looks like a beautiful painting on the wall, its even framed.
Vicki is brad's fiance. They are lovely and very welcoming. They took us for tour of some of the farms they have, we also got to see some old ruined houses that would have been the original farm houses. The first one we saw was built in the 1920's and was made from railway sleepers, it had 4 rooms (kitchen, lounge room and 2 bedrooms, all rooms were tiny) and the family had 7 children. I got some great pictures at the houses. We got to have a couple of nights away from the caravan and stay in Brad and Vicki's house.
Yesterday Vicki went to netball and Brad worked on the farm, so Nathan did some maintenance on the car and helped Brad a bit and I got to have a day to myself. I did some washing and watched a movie and generally just had a lazy quiet day. Last night we went out for tea to the Lake King tavern. Nathan had a reef and beef and I had an eye fillet steak, it was beautiful. We also got to meet Vicki's friend Carissa who is from Adelaide same as Vicki and married a Lake King farm boy. It was because of Carissa that Vicki met Brad, when she came to visit her here. We had a great night until we left. As we were leaving I was talking to Carissa and some how managed to fall down the stairs and flat on my face. I worried both Vicki and Carissa who were panicking and trying to help me, but nathan said its ok she does it often. Lol I grazed my shin and knee from hitting the steps and put little holes in my hand from the gravel. Vicki can't believe I can laugh about it, she is still worried now lol. If you know me well, you will know how clumsy I am.
This morning we are packing up and getting ready to head to Kalgoorlie. It has been great meeting family over the otherside of Aus, and we are really thankful to them for being so hospitable.

Until next time.....



Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb