A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 26 - Wilsons Promontory National Park - Squeaky Beach, Picnic Bay, Whiskey Bay and Fish Creek.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
March 24th 2019
Published: March 24th 2019
Edit Blog Post

I finally made it to Wilsons Promontory National Park one of my more anticipated destinations. I arrived at the information centre around noon and got oriented to the park. Since I only had an afternoon to look around, I decided to tackle three bay/beach areas that were close together and could be explored. Firstly, I visited Squeaky Beach. A lovely beach with interesting boulders on one side that you could scramble around. It was a beautiful day so off came the sneakers and at least I got my feet wet. Next was Picnic Bay. A smaller beach but quite nice. These beaches are typically 300-400 metres from the carpark so not a difficult walk. Finally, off to Whiskey Bay. Again, some lovely boulders on either side worthy of investigation. There is a coastal trail that connect these three beaches to each other so you can in fact make a walking circuit if you are so inclined. I may indeed revisit these areas and do a beach to beach trek, time permitting. One of the difficult things is I am staying in a place called Fish Creek about 45 minutes from the park. Then once you get to the entrance of the park there is another 30 minute drive to many of the points of interest. Part of the journey I guess.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

What do you see?What do you see?
What do you see?

The sphinx? A peanut character? A body laid to rest? or perhaps an island off the coast?


24th March 2019
Squeaky Beach

Really beautifull
24th March 2019
Picnic Bay

No picnic tables?? ahah
24th March 2019
Picnic Bay

With so many black rocks every where I checked about vocanos in Australia and I found this: Australia is home to the world's longest chain of continental volcanoes stretching more than 2,000km along the east coast, "But the last eruptions were Mount Gambier and Mount Schank, so we could expect another volcanic eruption in that area." ....there is about 400 volcanoes stretching from Melbourne to Mount Gambier,...be nervous if earth is shaking!
24th March 2019
Squeaky Beach

very nice,.... Squeaky Beach, so named because of the sounds you'll hear while walking along the sand (wikipedia)..... is that true?
24th March 2019
The Ultimate Sun screen!

I agree!
24th March 2019
What do you see?

Probably because I am from St-Tite,..I see a beef skull with one eye and a broken horn on the left..
24th March 2019
Whiskey Bay

Stoned people all in line waiting for a boat to come in
24th March 2019
What do you see?

Nothing too special, just like abandoned island.

Tot: 0.185s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 21; qc: 109; dbt: 0.117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb