A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 25. The Burong Coastal Drive - The Oaks, Twin Reefs, Shack Bay, Eagles Nest, The Caves, and the Flat Rocks


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Inverloch
March 23rd 2019
Published: March 23rd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today was a relatively quiet day. The main activity consisted of driving the Burong Coastal Drive from Cape Paterson to Inverloch. It has been dubbed as the "mini-ocean road" so how could I not drive it! This portion is less than 20 km but passes numerous points of interest where one sees unique rock formations, sandy beaches, the odd rock pool, and of course lovely coastal scenery. The nice part for me was there was typically beach access so I would spend time at each location walking around and absorbing whatever was going on. All of the stop points were in fact part of the Burong Marine National park as of course the focus is on life by the water. Unfortunately, I did not see The Caves as it was high tide and I did not feel like scrambling around the slippery rocks. I did, however, see its cute beach. I stopped at Inverloch for the night prior to the last main destination of the trip - Wilsons Promontory National Park, affectionately know as "the Prom".


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Eagles NestEagles Nest
Eagles Nest

See the eagle?


24th March 2019
Twin Oaks

That's beautifull, I wonder why they name it 'twin oaks'...I see no oaks!!
24th March 2019
Love the rocks

The sand is fine and clean, rocks looks like a big turtle back.
24th March 2019
Love the patterns

looks like prehistoric bones!
24th March 2019
Twin Reefs

Nice sand like twin oaks, I am wondering if the rock we are seeing is Eagle nest?
24th March 2019
Eagles Nest

Looks like stairs, almost inviting to climb
24th March 2019
Eagles Nest

There is an eagle on top! wow! good timing, I guess it is an eagle penthouse!
24th March 2019
Rock Pools

very nice, prehistoric shark jaw
24th March 2019
Eagles Nest

curious rocks, mostly lava I guess

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 38; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb