A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 24.The Pinnacles at Cape Woolamai, George Bass Coastal Walk, Surfies Point and the Shipwreck SS Speke


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Philip Island
March 22nd 2019
Published: March 22nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Today started with a marvelous walk, a walk from Woolamai Beach to The Pinnacles. The first km of the hike is along the beach after which you climb some well-made steps and finish the walk to The Pinnacles as a coastal walk. Of course the scenery is quite nice. It is about 2.2 km to the actual Pinnacles at which time you are rewarded with these majestic rock spires jutting out of the ocean. Quite impressive. When I was there I could observe climbers actually scrambling to the top of the Pinnacles. It looked like they knew what they were doing. Certainly not for the faint of heart. This walk was one of the highlights of my time at Phillip Island. Next stop was to try the George Bass Coastal walk, or at least part of it. The walk started at the Punchbowl and went for over 7 km as a coastal walk. It was hot, and not a looped trail so I walked out about 2 km and just turned around and walked back. Lovely views of course of the coast. Finally, my curiosity got the better of me when I heard of a shipwreck one could observe after walking for a short walk at Kitty Miller Bay. Luckily it was short as there was not much to it as you could see a few pieces of rusted metal sticking out (at low tide). I have to earn to control my expectations! But the Pinnacles made the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



22nd March 2019
Woolamai Beach

really superb, not many people enjoying the place!
22nd March 2019
Woolamai Beach from the trail

very good picture!
22nd March 2019
The Pinnacles

Wow, a good reward after a long walk. From the Nobbies to the Pinnacles, Philip Island has no more secrets for you.
22nd March 2019
Path of the Gearge Bass Coastal Walk

more vegetation than close to the coast. It seems dry too, we haven't seen any rain on you pirctures yet,
22nd March 2019
George Bass Coastal Walk

Very nice day and view!
22nd March 2019
Kitty Miller Bay

good place to sink!! too bad you had to go back to Phillip island because George bass trail was out of it.
22nd March 2019
Kitty Miller Bay

You understand these posts well. I was disappointed in this walk. Hike a few km and see a piece of rusted steel?
22nd March 2019
The shipwreck

not much left, in 100 years there will be nothing left!..Thanks again for all these nice pictures!
23rd March 2019
Kitty Miller Bay

Hi Wilson, I don't know why but when I received your comment this morning, I only saw : You understand these posts .. So I did not know what you meant. Complete sentence are more clear! I follow you on Google earth so I see your road and directions. It is true shipwreck was very disapointing. There is only 1 week left. Keep on discovering and we have the easy part of it!
23rd March 2019
Kitty Miller Bay

I did not know you could follow me on Google Maps. Now I understand. One of your comments said I had to go back to Phillip Island. I said wow she sure understands these posts. How did she know ? Now I understand.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb