October 12, 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
October 12th 2009
Published: October 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

To continue on with my countdown - 5 weeks left! 18 days left in Perth; 15 days left in Australia (days I’ll be traveling). Time is really breezing by. I can’t believe how fast it’s going, as usual. This part of the year is really difficult though, with all the assignments. Today I turned in a major paper for one of my courses. It doesn’t have a final, so after class tomorrow it’s done for good. I also did my big presentation with my 2 Australian group members. It went fairly well, we were all kind of nervous so it was a bit choppy, but we got through it. My big plant collection project was supposed to be due today, but he pushed it back to Thursday (which I needed the extra time - so I was quite happy about it). I’m going in tomorrow to ask him some last minute questions about the assignment. I have all 3 written components typed out and the plants pasted into a book. I’m just going to show him the writing and make sure it’s the way he wants before I print it all out for good.

I’ve spent most of the past 2 weeks working on these projects or trying to study. I have to be able to label and identify 50 different plant families from my head - which is pretty challenging if anyone doesn’t know what’s involved in doing that. So I’ve been studying a lot for that. On Friday during the day I went downtown for the Swan Festival of Lights. There were a couple of stalls with Indian food and art made out of rice flour, which was pretty cool. And there was a band playing. Then on Saturday I went to Spring in the Valley, which is a huge annual wine festival. That was pretty cool but it’s actually on the vineyards, so it’s a long ride around to get to anything because you have to drive through all the countryside/past the vineyards to get to each one and they’re well spread out. I did a wine tasting. It was $10 and you got a free wine glass and 6 tastes. And then I got chocolate from Margaret River Chocolate Company. Which is very delicious chocolate, I must say. I took a couple of pictures (before the battery on my camera died!) and someone took one of me with a bunch of wine barrels, so that might’ve turned out nice.

The girls and I watched Serendipity on Saturday night. This coming weekend is our last weekend together. Because the next weekend they’re going to Broome, then I’m going to the Great Barrier Reef, then Monkey Mia, then leaving here for good for Sydney/Melbourne and home. It’s crazy to think that after all this time it’s really our last weekend together so soon. But it’s exciting too. I can’t wait for my own bed and seeing everyone and American food.

I was talking with my Australian presentation partners today. They ask really funny questions. One kid asked if we really ate turkey. Like he thought it was a joke because apparently he doesn’t eat turkey at all. They also don’t know what reeses cups or graham crackers are. How do you explain a graham cracker?! It’s so hard to describe, at least to me. But I tried. I might just send them a picture over the internet. They didn’t know what a smore was either, which is what led to the graham cracker discussion. The one girl had only heard about it in movies. I don’t know what I would do if I had gone 20 years without knowing what a smore was!

Hmm.. Well I can’t think of anything else right now! I’ve been spending a lot of time studying instead of doing more exciting things. Let me know if you have any more questions about anything that I can try and answer!


Advertisement



12th October 2009

Tell me about...
Brit - ...what color is the dirt? which indicates which metals or ores are prevalent... the color of the sea?...i know the Atlantic is green and the Pacific is blue...but you abut the Indian Ocean so let me know....pick me up a smooth light river stone (one smoothed by water) about the size of a quarter, please, I will drill a hole in it and wear it for a necklace so look for something different...the color of their sunsets....just like ours? favorite fish they (they being the natives of OZ) eat, fixed how? Their bread....whole grain or white like ours? what is the biggest difference you found between the Aussies and us......I always thought we were somewhat interchangeable....but, then, they may consider this comment an insult.....I will be so happy to see you again and no one knows better than I how fast time flies.... if you can remember, Sydney Broadbent would lke you to send her a postcard to: Sydney Broadbent, c/o Pat Lewis, 14 Brandywine, Ho-Ho-Kus, NJ 07423 lv, ga
13th October 2009

Coming Home
Britni, hard to believe it is almost over... Enjoy the remaining time and places. Come across any Harley Dealers on your travels? (I'll take a Large ;-)> ) Uncle Jack
14th October 2009

Hello = )
Yea, I haven't forgotten. There aren't any here in Perth (where I've done my uni) but should be one in Sydney. 5 more days of class and 3 finals. Then Great Barrier Reef 10/28 - 11/1, Monkey Mia 11/5 - 11/8 Sydney 11/9 - 11/12 Melbourne 11/12 - 11/15. With the day change I'll be home at midnight on 11/15! Saw cute pictures of the boys playing hockey/at Disney land. Hope you got my postcards - B

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb