August 28, 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
August 27th 2009
Published: August 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So this week of classes is finally over. That means Only four more days of class and I'm on spring break already! I can hardly believe how fast it is going. That means I'm HALF WAY THROUGH my semester here.

Classes are going good still. We are starting a floral survey in my Land Plant Diversity and Systematics class. That means I get to go out into the forest and collect a bunch of different plants and then go to the Herbarium and identify them. We have to identify 15 species from 10 different families. The hardest part is just being an exchange student in general. That means I have to find a bus that goes to the forest and a bus that can take me to the herbarium and lug all my plants and paper and such around with me. Things are so much easier with a car. One of my friends might drive, but I'll have to see yet.

My huge paper, which is 5,000 words, was due tomorrow, but the teacher pushed it back to Monday. I don't really have anything left to do on it, but it's nice to have some time over the weekend to edit some more and fill in any other holes I might have.

I'm glad the month is up, just because I spent my budget for the month. I decided this might be a fun thing for people at home (fun or boring? I don't know you tell me). I went to the store today, it was $31.51. I'm going to post pictures and prices of everything I bought. You tell me if you think it was worth it!

It's okay that I spent the last of my money on food though. I have a cold, so I'm going to be staying in the whole weekend, just to make sure I don't get really sick before we go to Singapore.

Oh, and the weather is finally nice here. At least the last two days have been warm and sunny!! So lets hope it stays that way = )


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

SalsaSalsa
Salsa

1.99
ReceiptReceipt
Receipt

Grand total = 31.51


28th August 2009

Those prices seem normal to me... except for that peanut butter!
29th August 2009

haha. i think everyone else found my "lets look at Australian groceries" article quite boring. There was an article just on yahoo news. And it said how Australian groceries are significantly more expensive than other countries. but yea, peanut butter and candy bars is what I found to be ridiculous
29th August 2009

I agree with you. Way to expensive for food. Pizza sauce and salsa aren't too overly priced. Would it be any less expensive if you and your roommates bought some stuff together and shared? I heard about your allergy medicine. Are you going to be able to get it? Is that why you have a cold? I sent out an email to the pilots and f/a's asking if anyone has been to Singapore. I'm hoping someone will respond and give you some places to see/do. Hope you feel better.
14th September 2009

peanut butter?! that's so expensive!

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb