August 24, 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
August 24th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This week is so busy for me! I have 3 papers due. 2 of which are almost done already, but still. So much after having nothing for so long. They are going fairly well though. One is a 5,000 word max, which I have about 4,000 done. Another is 1,000 words, which I have about 925, and then another 1,000 I will get to later in the week.

Classes are good. We didn't have a lab today, which makes last week my last week of 9 hours of lab. Which I'm happy about. Those without science majors get so much extra time to do homework because they aren't sitting in 3 hours/lab/class a week.

I'm trying to keep my room clean for the cleaning lady, but somehow stuff always ends up everywhere. She doesn't come for 2 more days though, so hopefully by then I will have gotten everything off the floor for her to sweep.

After this week, there is next week, and then I will be off to Singapore for a week! I'm excited to get to be able to see all these things. Does anyone know anyone that has been to or lived in Singapore before that can give me tips or advice on what to see? We've looked at some tourist sites and such to get an idea, but it's not the same as having been there!

I can't remember if I wrote this in a previous entry, but I finally managed to finalized my trip to the Great Barrier Reef - flights, accomodation, and activities. I'll be there in October.

The problem with starting to plan trips is then you get greedy and just want to go everywhere, regardless of cost. At least that's the trouble I'm having! Now that I've managed to figure out and plan an entire trip on my own, I want to go to so many more places. There a bunch of places here on the West Coast I would like to see: Pinnacles, stromatolites, Margaret River, etc. Plus.. Melbourne, Sydney, & New Zealand. I'm trying not to think about it too much now. I'm just going to watch my spending on silly things and see how much money I have after Singapore to work with through the rest of the year.

The other big barrier to traveling is the way in which finals are set up here. You don't know when your finals are until just a week before hand. And then by then plane tickets are so expensive it's outrageous. So, it's not like I can plan a trip now for November because I might have a test or something! I've tried asking the professors, but they have no idea when they're finals will be. It's all up to the school. The only suggestion anyone has had, is to book the tickets now (or whenever I decide I definitely have the money to go somewhere else) and then pay the $30 or whatever it is depending on the airline to change the dates so that I don't miss finals. That all seems very complicated and messy to me though.

I'm sure everything will work out fine. The Great Barrier Reef was the place I wanted to see most, so I'm extremely excited about it.

This past weekend was fun. We went to clubs and like a tavern or pub I guess it would be like at home? The club was fun with American music. The pub was nice. They have food there that sounds really good, and I guess on Wednesdays you can get pizza and beer for $11 each, so we might try that next Wednesday. The food isn't that good here, so we're always trying to plan a day to get something somewhere else. I really miss tacos. I might have to take myself to get tacos here one day! I'm used to getting them at Denison all the time.

Besides that, everything has been fairly normal around here. I went for a walk yesterday and saw a really cool orange flower. Of course, I didn't have my camera. I may try to go back and get a picture of it and other things for everyone at home. I'm so bad at remembering it here. I think it's because none of my friends carry purses a lot, so now I don't either. So if I take the camera I have to carry it around in my hand so I never take it!

Oh, anddd. My fashion show got cancelled! = ( so sad. The Multi-cultural night is still on though, so there might be something good to write about after. I feel like every time I say I am going to do something it ends up not happening. From now on I might have to wait until after I actually do things to write about them on here.

Ok, well I'm going to get ready for dinner. Enjoy the warm weather at home!

Advertisement



25th August 2009

Singapore
One of our flight attendants may have gone to Singapore. I'll check and send you any info if so.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb